Skip to content

Liz Nugent In Conversation With No Alibis Bookshop, Belfast

Liz NugentAward winning and bestselling Irish author Liz Nugent is coming No Alibis Bookshop Belfast to read and talk about her new book ‘Lying In Wait’ a suspenseful tale about deceit.

Liz previously came to Belfast in 2014 as part of the Belfast Book Festival to talk about her debut novel, ‘Unravelling Oliver’ which went onto win Crime Fiction of the Year at the Bord Gais Book Awards.

Liz will be appearing at the Belfast Bookshop on Friday 2nd September at 6pm. See you there!

Alex Brown Reveals New Christmas Book – Not Just For Christmas

'Not Just For Christmas The lovely Alex Brown has revealed the cover to her Christmas short story called ‘Not Just For Christmas’ which sees the ‘Sunday Times’ bestselling author returning to our favourite village, Tindledale.

The story of ‘Not Just For Christmas’ is –

Kitty, who runs the Spotted Pig Tea-rooms in the picturesque village of Tindledale, thinks she’s come to terms with her husband Ed’s death on active duty. When she learns that Ed’s army dog, a black Labrador named Monty, is being retired and needs rehoming, it awakens her heartache once more.

Amber runs the pet parlour, but her love of dogs extends to rescuing abandoned pooches and now her tiny cottage is overflowing with homeless hounds. The only answer is to open a proper rescue centre but where will the money come from?

Kitty knows she could never take on Monty – it would be too painful, but with more than one dog needing a home this Christmas, is a miracle too much to hope for?

A lovely story to curl up with on the Winter nights and at only 99p, it’s a bargain!

You can pre-order Not Just for Christmas (A Short Story) from Amazon and will be available to download from 6th October 2016.

Lisa Dickenson Writers Tips

Lisa DickensonDialogue. Dialogue makes the world go round, or at least a book come to life. I believe there should be lots of it and it should feel natural, so that’s what I’d recommend nailing.

Miranda Dickinson Reveals New Book – Searching For A Silver Lining

'Searching For A Silver LiningBestselling ‘Sunday Times’ author, Miranda Dickinson has revealed the cover to her second book with Pan MacMillan called ‘Searching For A Silver Lining’.

The story of ‘Searching For A Silver’ is –

It began with a promise…

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything…

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. ‘Searching for a Silver Lining’ will take you on a trip you’ll never forget.

You can pre-order Searching for a Silver Lining from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 20th October 2016.

The Little Pieces Of You And Me By Vanessa Greene

The Little Pieces Of You And Me‘The Little Pieces Of You And Me’ is the latest book by Vanessa Greene.

Best friends Isla and Sophie made each other a promise a long time ago: to never let life pass them by. Years later, Isla is in love, living abroad and fulfilling her dreams. But for Sophie, things haven’t turned out the way she was expecting and she hasn’t achieved any of the things she and Isla talked about. And then, in one sudden moment, life irrevocably changes for both women. Isla and Sophie have hard decisions to make but above all else they must face up to the uncertainty that lies ahead. It’s only when they realise that this is easier together, two friends standing side by side, that each woman can embrace whatever the future holds for them.

‘The Little Pieces of You And Me is another tender tale from Vanessa Greene, a story of friendship, love and learning to adjust to sudden changes in life.

Best friends Isla and Sophie have been best friends for a number of years and were always there for each other. Isla leaves in Amsterdam following her life long dream of acting and aspires to one day thread the floors of Boardway, enjoying the laid-back life of Amsterdam, she falls for fellow foreigner to the city, Rafael who has left Mexico to run his boat bookshop. Meanwhile, the life that Sophie dreamt off seems far. She’s not a doctor but working in a children’s ward and watching children from afar, the bucket list that her and Isla created many years ago seems far from reality and unachievable. But as life is going along for the two girls, Isla is suddenly struck down with an illness that changes her life forever and Sophie finds that her marriage is far from perfect. Giving up her dreams of acting on stage and finding love, Isla returns home, determined not to be a burden and adjust to the changes in her body. With the aid of Sophie providing a shoulder when things get tough, the two women begin to work their way through Isla’s list and discovering new things along the way.

I’ve been a fan of Vanessa books for years, her stories are always gentle tales that flow at a leisurely pace that makes for poignant reading and ‘The Little Pieces Of You And Me’ was quite the literary treat. Both the leading ladies are wonderful and aspirational characters, I loved Isla, a young virtuous woman with a spirit for adventure, but when she is diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, we see her only briefly give up on life but then she seizes life by the hands and goes about doing things on her list, before it gets too late. Sophie is a great friend and tries hard to keep Sophie’s spirits upbeat even though she is dealing with her own issues in life.

A inspirational and heartwarming story about love and illness, this book about female friendship is sweet and uplifting, tackling sensitives issues, that I’m quite familiar with. Sweetly written, ‘The Little Pieces Of You And Me’ is a wonderful story about starting over that will have you smiling and crying throughout.

You can buy The Little Pieces of You and Me from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.