Skip to content

Win A Copy Of The Butterfly Summer By Harriet Evans

The Butterfly SummerI’ve a copy of ‘The Butterfly Summer’, the latest book by Harriet Evan to give away to one lucky person.

The story of ‘The Butterfly Summer’ is –

What magic is this?

You follow the hidden creek towards a long-forgotten house.

They call it Keepsake, a place full of wonder … and danger. Locked inside the crumbling elegance of its walls lies the story of the Butterfly Summer, a story you’ve been waiting all your life to hear.

This house is Nina Parr’s birthright. It holds the truth about her family – and a chance to put everything right at last.

To be in with a chance of winning the book, simply answer the following question by leaving your answer in the comment box.

The house is who’s birthright?

The winner will be revealed on Monday 30th May. Good luck!

Cover Reveal – The Bookshop On Rosemary Lane By Ellen Berry

The Bookshop On Rosemary LaneThe cover for Ellen Berry’s new book, ‘The Bookshop On Rosemary Lane’ has been revealed and it’s lovely.

The story of ‘The Bookshop On Rosemary Lane’is –

In the beginning…

Kitty Cartwright has always solved her problems in the kitchen. Her cookbooks are her life, and there isn’t an issue that ‘Cooking with Aspic’ can’t fix. Her only wish is that she had a book entitled ‘Rustling Up Dinner When Your Husband Has Left You’.

Forty years later…

On Rosemary Lane, Della Cartwright plans to open a very special little bookshop. Not knowing what to do with the hundreds of cookbooks her mother left her, she now wants to share their recipes with the world – and no amount of aspic will stand in her way.

But with her family convinced it’s a hare-brained scheme, Della starts to wonder if she’s made a terrible decision. One thing’s for sure: she’s about to find out…

Lose yourself in Della’s world of food, family and friends. The perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

You can pre-order ‘The Bookshop On Rosemary Lane’ from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 14th July 2016.

Who’s That Girl? By Mhairi McFarlane

Who's That Girl?‘Who’s That Girl?’is the latest book by Mhairi McFarlane

When Edie is caught in a compromising position at her colleagues’ wedding, all the blame falls on her – turns out that personal popularity in the office is not that different from your schooldays. Shamed online and ostracised by everyone she knows, her boss suggests an extended sabbatical – ghostwriting an autobiography for hot new acting talent, Elliot Owen. Easy, right? Wrong. Banished back to her home town of Nottingham, Edie is not only dealing with a man who probably hasn’t heard the word ‘no’ in a decade, but also suffering an excruciating regression to her teenage years as she moves back in with her widowed father and judgey, layabout sister. When the world is asking who you are, it’s hard not to question yourself. Who’s that girl? Edie is ready to find out.

It’s fair to say that Mhairi McFarlane is one of my favourite authors, her stories are clever with witty dialogue and she always creates a heroine, that I would love as a friend to go out with.

The story begins when copywriter, Edie attends a wedding of her work colleagues and ends up being kissed by the groom. Hailed as the scarlett woman, she leaves the bright lights of London for her home in Nottingham. Her understanding boss has given her a project that she can work on whilst in Nottingham as her colleagues pass around a petition to get her to leave the agency. Her new job is become a ghostwriter for Elliot Owen’s autobiography, a young British actor who is taking the world by storm with his new medieval series. The story follows on as the pair work together and Edie tries to sort out her messy life.

The thing with Mhairi, is she creates characters that you care about and this was the case with Edie, our reluctant heroine of the story. Stuck in an unfortunate position of being hailed as a marriage wrecker, she retreats home to distance herself from the drama. She’s an inspirational sweetheart of a character, outspoken, witty and slightly damaged from her past. She made me laugh with her unique dialogue and her interactions with her bossy, spoilt and save the planet younger sister Meg and troubled father. The family are dysfunctional due to their history and each one has issues that they bottle up. Elliott is a charming man and is very lovable with his humour and banter and the moments Edie has with him makes for poignant and tender scenes.

The story is riddled with so many fabulous characters, that had me gasping in shock and delight at people’s behaviour. One particular character is Margot, Edie’s nosy neighbour who Edie who grows close to as they share alcohol and cake and reminisce on old times.

I genuinely loved this story so much, that I have bags under my eyes to prove it, as I spent the last couple of nights sitting up late reading. It’s funny from the very beginning and is filled with charming and relatable characters that you can’t help falling in love with. A modern love story, riddled with drama, old ghosts and a moody sister, ‘Who’s That Girl?’ is a deliciously honest, tender and fun tale that leaves the reader bursting for more.

You can pre-order Who’s That Girl? from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from April 2016.

The Teacher By Katerina Diamond

The Teacher‘The Teacher’ is the first book by Katerina Diamond.

The body of the head teacher of an exclusive Devon school is found hanging from the rafters in the assembly hall. Hours earlier he’d received a package, and only he could understand the silent message it conveyed. It meant the end. As Exeter suffers a rising count of gruesome deaths, troubled DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles must solve the case and make their city safe again.But as they’re drawn into a network of corruption, lies and exploitation, every step brings them closer to grim secrets hidden at the heart of their community. And once they learn what’s motivating this killer, will they truly want to stop him?

Last weekend, I decided to read something different, so I picked up a copy of ‘The Teacher’ and found myself engrossed in Katerina Diamond’s debut novel, a disturbing and gory story that I regularly read aloud to others so they also felt part of the gruesome tale.

‘The Teacher’ begins with the brutal murder of a headteacher and then follows in the same vein, as a killer targets different people and exposing them to the most horrific forms of torture.

The story is seen through the eyes of the two main people of the story. Abby, a young taxidermist who feels at her most comfortable surrounded by dead animals. After an incident at university, she was retracted into herself, safe in the solace of her dead beings, she enjoys her work until a young man called Parker, comes along on placement and disrupts her routine and the two become firm friends. The story flashes in past and present sequences for Abby, as we get to know the young woman and the reason she has become such a recluse.

Adrian Miles, has returned to the police force after a six month break and has a new partner, outspoken and bolshy DCI Imogen Grey and wants to get involved in the recent series of murders. The two of them are embroiled in the drama as they uncover secrets and old ghosts return.

This book is an incredibly gripping read but it’s most definitely not for the faint hearted, as it’s filled with gore from the very beginning. With a dark cover, ‘The Teacher’ is dark and chilling and gives an insight into the policing system as we try to catch the killer with the police. Regarding the circumstances, of the killer, it’s hard not to feel sympathetic towards the killer as motives are revealed and scores are settled, even though it is terribly graphic.

Addictive from the start, this grisly read is the ultimate page turner, filled with blood, gore and a handsome detective, ‘The Teacher’ is a deliciously good debut.

You can buy The Teacher from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Extract From Danger Sweetheart by MaryJanice Davidson

Danger SweetheartI reviewed the book on Friday and I loved it, so here’s a taster from ‘Danger Sweetheart’ by MaryJanice Davidson.

Natalie Lane watched the rented truck cover the last half mile to Heartbreak and was not impressed. This would be the first of what promised to be weeks of awful days, and not for the first time she wondered why she didn’t give up, give in, and get lost. Follow half the town out of town. Let Sweetheart die.

Not even if he stuck a gun in my ear. Because it wasn’t the town, it was never the town, it was always the people. Well. Most of the people. Garrett Hobbes, for example, could fuck right off. The world needed more golf courses like a diabetic needed a glucose drip.

The truck passed the last gate and pulled up between the farmhouse and Barn Main. The engine quit and she could see him in the driver’s seat, moving his hands, and was he . . . ? Was he patting the steering wheel? In a well done, mighty steed way? Yes. Yes he was.

Self-congratulation must run in that family, she mused. Oh, and look at this. He remembered to kick out the ladder this time. Too bad. She’d have loved to see him on his ass in the dirt. Again.

“It’s you!” he said as he hopped down, having the balls-out nerve to sound excited. Except where did she get off ? Before she knew who he was, she’d have been happy to see him, too. If anything, she was more pissed because she had liked him on short acquaintance. What if he’d never seen her in her other life? When would she have found out his terrible truth? Their first date? Their first month–aversary? Their wedding night?

Wedding night? Jeez, Natalie, get a grip.

“Hello again.” He stuck out his hand, which she definitely didn’t notice was large and looked strong, especially in contrast to her own teeny paws. Nor did she notice he had big hands and, as a glance at his shoes told her, big feet, and she definitely didn’t form a theory about his dick based solely on his sizeable mitts. She also didn’t notice how his smile took years from his face, or how his pricey clothes beautifully set off those long legs and wide shoulders, that the color of his crisp button-down shirt was the same color as his dark blue eyes, that his tan slacks

(slacks? Seriously? Slacks?)

fit like they were made for him

(of course they were; guy’s probably got a fleet of tailors stashed somewhere)

and that his swimmer’s shoulders made his waist appreciably narrow in contrast.

He was still holding out his hand, and she gave it a brief listless shake, the limp kind with the bare tips of her fingers. “You’re late.”

You can buy Danger, Sweetheart from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops.