Skip to content

The Real Me By Vicky Pattison

The Real Me, Fashion, Fitness And Food Tips For Real Women From Me To You‘The Real Me’ is a lifestyle book by Vicky Pattison

Vicky Pattison knows that achieving your dreams takes hard work, hustle, a sense of humour and a killer outfit. And now she’s sharing her insider secrets for the first time: how to dress for success, how to eat well and keep healthy on the go and how to stay true to yourself when the going gets tough. But Vicky wouldn’t be Vicky if she didn’t also know how to cut loose and have fun. The Real Me has everything you and your squad need for an epic night out or the ultimate girls’ night in. And for the morning after, there’s honest and hilarious advice on curing a hangover . . . and a broken heart. ‘The Real Me’ is packed with recipes, fashion and beauty tips, training programmes and straight-talking advice on dealing with everything from job interviews to first dates. This is the ultimate guide to living life to the full, the Vicky Pattison way.

I’ve been a fan of Vicky Pattison for a number of years, I loved her in ‘Geordie Shore’ and ‘Ex On The Beach’ with her wit and sharp tongue, she makes for entertaining television so when I heard about her lifestyle book’, The Real Me’, I was curious about to see how her personality would translate to page.

The book is spilt up into twelve chapters and each chapter provides advice, tips and Vicky’s own experiences ranging from love, heartbreak, health, fitness as well as tips on landing your dream jobs as well as achieving your goals. A lot of the content is common sense, but there are so many wonderful nuggets of knowledge that the book does make for aspirational and motivation reading that I really did enjoy.

I was fortunate to get a quick interview with Vicky when she was doing the book tour for ‘The Real Me’ and when I asked her to sum up the book in three words, her reply was that “the real me”. Which is so very true. the book reads how Vicky talks and behaves and is funny and clever in its delivery.

I loved the honesty and frankness in this book, how Vicky tells of her perseverance with achieving her goals, her low points and her plans for the future. She offers direct advice on all aspects of life and proves with a lot of hard work, anything is possible.

Beautifully laid out in a minimal style, this book is filled with recipes, lifestyle tips and a playlist for a girls night out, ‘The Real Me’ is a bubbly and inspirational guide that truly is Vicky Pattison wrapped up in a book!

You can buy The Real Me: Fashion, Fitness and Food Tips for Real Women – From Me to You from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Stylist By Rosie Nixon

The Stylist‘The Stylist’ is Rosie Nixon’s debut novel and it’s a fast paced story packed with drama and glamour throughout.

Amber Green loves her job at Smith’s, the exclusive London boutique frequented by the rich, the famous and the stylish – and with stylist to the stars Mona Armstrong as a customer, there is never a dull moment. With the Golden Globes approaching and her diva-like behaviour resulting in yet another assistant walking out, Mona needs help, and she needs it fast. Before she has time to say Rodeo Drive, Amber finds herself agreeing to get on a plane to LA as she is expected to work with the increasingly volatile stylist and dress some of Hollywood’s hottest (and craziest) starlets. Awards season turns her life upside down as dazzling gowns, shoes and jewels are matched to a steady stream of celebrities who expect to be made red carpet ready. And as Amber starts to enjoy her new life rummaging through the ultimate dressing-up box, she finds herself in the limelight as she catches the attention of two very different suitors. How will she keep her head? Which man will she choose? And most importantly, what will everyone wear?

The story is seen through the narrative of Amber Green, a young woman who works in an exclusive boutique when she is snapped up by successful fashion stylist Mona Armstrong who is currently shooting her own reality show. Mona spots Amber’s talent when Amber accidentally styles the window display incorrectly and immediately calls upon Amber to help her with her busy schedule after her assistant lets her down. So Amber is flown to Los Angles and gets caught up in the glitz and bright lights of all the major awards and helps Mona get through her daily dramas.

‘The Stylist’ is fun from the very beginning. Amber is a likeable and relatable character, who follows her own dreams no matter the circumstances and against what her sensible mother advises. She is courageous with going to another country and seizing the opportunity to showcase her skills as well as deal with Mona’s meltdowns or dramatics. Mona is an interesting character, highly strung, she can’t get through her day without lashings of coffee and relies heavily on Amber. She’s quite self absorbed and rude but I found the scenes with her to be highly entertaining. Other accompanying characters in this enjoyable story include a greedy pig and a handsome camera man that made quite pleasurable reading.

This story is deliciously cheerful from the very beginning. The book is written by Rosie Nixon who is joint editor at ‘Hello’ magazine and her story gives an refreshing and compulsive insight into the world of celebrities and fashion and it also made me wonder were any of the stories or characters in the book based on actual events.

With a fun and interactive cover this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Filled with high jinks, drama and paparazzi galore, ‘The Stylist’ is stylish and glamorous story and an exciting beginning to a new series.

You can buy ‘The Stylist’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Aspects Festival, Bangor 18-25th September 2016

Sinead MoriartyFor all you budding writers out there in Northern Ireland, set your GPS for Bangor as the Aspects Irish Literature festival is launching with a packed programme filled with some of the province’s finest authors and performers.

Now in its 25th year, the festival is opening its doors from 18 − 25th September and it’s packed with events for book lovers, aspiring writers and musical treats with performances from Duke Special and Van Morrision

There’s plenty of workshops and events taking place that will help every fledging author, with advice on writing crime from Brian McGilloway and Steve Cavanagh, a workshop on how to write humour, and even advice on getting published.

For fans of female fiction, check out Saturday’s morning event on 24th September when Penguin Ireland author, Sinead Moriarty will be talking about her own writing journey as well as her most recent book, ‘The Way We Were’.

For more information on the festival check out the website Aspects Festival and follow on Twitter at Aspects Festival

Cover Reveal – Willow Cottage – Christmas Cheer By Bella Osborne

Willow Cottage‘Willow Cottage – Christmas Cheer’ is Bella’s Osborne second book from her cosy, heartwarming seasonal romance series and is perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley.

The story of ‘Willow Cottage – Christmas Cheer’ is –

Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring and safe place for little Leo.

When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage.

Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…

A lovely story to curl up with a cup of cocoa and at only 99p this seasonal story is a must read!

You can pre-order Willow Cottage – Part Two: Christmas Cheer from Amazon and will be available to buy from 20th October 2016.

Truly Madly Guilty By Liane Moriarty

Truly Madly Guilty‘Truly Madly Guilty’ is the latest book by bestselling author, Liane Moriarty.

Despite their differences, Erika and Clementine have been best friends since they were children. So when Erika needs help, Clementine should be the obvious person to turn to. Or so you’d think. For Clementine, as a mother of a two desperately trying to practise for the audition of a lifetime, the last thing she needs is Erika asking for something, again. But the barbecue should be the perfect way to forget their problems for a while. Especially when their hosts, Vid and Tiffany, are only too happy to distract them. Which is how it all spirals out of control.

Just like Liane’s previous books, ‘Truly Madly Guilty’, begins right after an unfortunate incident occurs at a barbecue.

The story is seen primarily through the eyes of childhood best friends Clementine and Erika and deals with the after effects from the barbecue.

Clementine and Erika have best friends for years, Clementine was always there for Erika and was the sister that each other never had, so when Erika asks for her help, to help give her the one thing she has longed for, Clementine begins to wonder about their relationship, as well as question her own marriage, as her and her husband Sam drift apart.

Erika is a calm and controlling force, having had a mother who hoards, she likes to keep a strong grip on her life but sometimes things don’t work out and you have to look for help. As she turns to Clementine, the balance of their friendship changes and having to deal with this shift as well as come to terms of the barbecue, things are strained between the friends.

The story flows between the past and present and sets the story up perfectly for the big reveal of the barbecue, as the vagueness and the intensity of the situation did make for quite gripping reading.

I’m a huge fan of Liane’s books, she’s a fantastic storyteller and has a clever style of writing engaging and compelling books with interesting characters with a plot line that constantly keeps the reader interested.

There’s a great mix of characters in this story, from the strained relationship between Erika and Clementine and Erika’s neighbours Tiffany and Vid who add an injection of humour to the tale, there’s also plenty of small sub stories throughout the book that all tie up neatly at the end.

An insightful and suspenseful tale with an intricately written plot line that keeps the reader engaged, ‘Truly Madly Guilty’ is another genius of a story from Liane.

You can buy Truly Madly Guilty from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.