Skip to content

The One By John Marrs

The One’The One’ is the latest book by John Marrs.

One simple mouth swab is all it takes. One tiny DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for. A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people take the test. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

‘The One’ is the first book by John Marrs that I’ve read and I have to say that it was a tremendously chilling introduction to the author.

The story is about Match Your DNA, the time has come when relationship are no longer based on attraction and dating, now you can find your ideal partner by sending your DNA and with a simple swab, you are matched up. Divorces have decreased and wedding have increased, sadly the introduction of the test, has resulted in some relationship break ups, as the test is based on everyone and doesn’t show favouritism when it comes to current relationships, sex, colour or creed.

The story follows the lives of five people who have all signed up to the test and deals with the dramas and situations that follow when paired up with their ideal person. Ellie, is a successful business woman, she has foregone relationships in favour of establishing her businesses and making her one of the most successful people in the world, but when Match Your DNA signs her up with Tim, a fun and outgoing businessman, she releases the reins on her business professional life and finally begins to relax. Nick is all set to marry the love of his life, but when his fiancee Sally, suggests they take part in the test, they discover that they are not matched and that Nick’s match is an unlikely surprise. Meanwhile, Christopher harbours a deep secret and when his match is a policewoman, he finds himself falling in love much to his denial, whilst Jade travels across the world to meet her match but finds herself faced with a surprise and like Jade, not everything is as it seems with Mandy’s match either.

I absolutely loved this book, I loved the uniqueness and originality of the tale and if I had the chance, I would have read the book in one sitting, but unfortunately life got in the way. The mixture of characters, gives the psychological thriller, a wide range of exciting twists that made reading the book so much fun and genuinely shocking. The story escalates widely from gruesome to tender moments in rapid successions, as secrets and identities are exposed and nothing is what it seems. There are many clever elements to this tale, but the fact that the story is seen from the spectrum of such a wide range of characters made for entertaining reading.

Another thing that I also loved about this book, is how life like it felt, it felt like the situation was genuine and I could imagine in years to come, this could be seen as the way to find your life partner instead of the old fashioned way of going to bars and supermarkets.

A book that is extraordinarily dark from the first page and is certainly reminiscent of the controversial ‘Black Mirror’ series. ‘The One’ is a hugely entertaining story that is cleverly written and pulls the reader in and spits them out lusting for more. I loved it!

You can pre-order The One from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th May 2017.

How To Be A Grown Up By Daisy Buchanan

How To Be A Grown Up‘How To Be A Grown Up’ is a self help book from Daisy Buchanan.

A comforting, witty, supportive handbook for real twenty-something women who want to discover how they can reach the end of the ‘fun’ decade knowing exactly who they are. Have you ever felt lost, anxious, panicky about adulthood? Have you ever spent a hungover Sunday crying into a bowl of cereal? Have you ever scrolled through Instagram and felt nothing but green-eyed jealousy and evil thoughts? Award-winning journalist, Grazia agony aunt and real-life big sister to five smart, stylish, stunning twenty-something young women, Daisy Buchanan has been there, done that and got the vajazzle. In How to Grow Up, she dispenses all the emotional and practical advice you need to negotiate a difficult decade. Covering everything from how to become more successful and confident at work, how to feel pride in yourself without needing validation from others, how to turn rivals into mentors, and how to enjoy being on your own, this is your warm, kind, funny voice in the dark saying “Honestly don’t worry, you’re doing your best and you’re amazing!”

Daisy Buchanan is a columnist and features writers for ‘The Guardian’ newspaper and her witty anecdotes about her life and her journey has resulted in the release of her self book, ‘How To Be A Grown Up’.

When it comes to self help and lifestyle bibles, our bookshelves are bursting with them as every week a new one comes offering inspiration and advice, they are the type of books that I don’t really bother with, as I’m kinda from the school of thinking, of making it up as I go along. Although last year, I did read Vicky Pattison’s book and I found it quite informative and useful, as I read it at a changing point in my life so some of the tips were beneficial.

I read this book over the Christmas period and with its bright pink cover, this book brightens up any bookcase.

The book is divided into chapters with stories and tips ranging from how to be confident, how to handles various emotions as well as deal with relationships with friends and partners. With each tip, there is a story from Daisy’s life, how she dealt with the problem, what she has learnt from it and tips for going forward.

Daisy’s tales of drama, with life, emotions and issues, provides comfort to us all, and provide us with the reassurance that we’re not alone with our problems in life. One useful tip that I did discover that after so many years on this planet, that I’m been washing my hair wrong for years, so that was quite an eye opener.

I found this book to a witty and frank collection of stories, that tell honestly of life experiences. Wise and fun, ‘How To Be A Grown Up’ is a heartening narrative, that provides supports that no matter the social or personal drama in life, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

You can pre-order How to Be a Grown Up from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 6th April 2017.

Cover Reveal – The Good Daughter By Alexandra Burt

The Good DaughterIf you enjoyed Alexandra’s debut novel, ‘Little Girl Gone’, then good news as she is back with a new thriller called ‘The Good Daughter’.

The story of ‘The Good Daughter’ is –

Dahlia Waller’s childhood memories consist of stuffy cars, seedy motels, and a rootless existence traveling the country with her eccentric mother. Now grown, she desperately wants to distance herself from that life. Yet one thing is stopping her from moving forward: she has questions.

In order to understand her past, Dahlia must go back. Back to her mother in the stifling town of Aurora, Texas. Back into the past of a woman on the brink of madness. But after she discovers three grave-like mounds on a neighbouring farm, she’ll learn that in her mother’s world of secrets, not all questions are meant to be answered…

‘The Good Daughter’ is a compelling take on a genre that shows no sign of slowing down. The perfect read for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

You can pre-order The Good Daughter from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 23rd February 2017.

Giveaway – Nina Is Not OK By Shappi Khorsandi

'Nina Is Not OKI’ve a copy of Shappi Khorsandi’s new book,’Nina Is Not OK’ to give away to one lucky person.

The story of ‘Nina Is Not OK’ is –

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before , then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

To win a copy of this dark, funny – sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians, simply answer the following question and leave your answer in the comment box below.

What is the name of Nina’s sister?

Winner will be revealed on Monday 23rd January. Good luck!

The Roanoke Girls By Amy Engel

The Roanoke Girls‘The Roanoke Girls’ is Amy Engel’s debut novel for adults.

The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there’s a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies. Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents’ estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing – and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

I was intrigued about ‘The Roanoke Girls’ when the publishers sent a compliments slip with the book warning me that the story was quite dark. So, never one to shy away from creepy stories, I delved straight in, eager to read the story of the Roanoke girls.

The story is primarily seen through the eyes of Lane Roanoke, a young woman who has returned home to Kanas, after many years away when she receives a phone call from her grandfather telling her that her cousin Allegra has disappeared. The story then flows from the past to the present, as we are introduced to Lane, a girl who went to live with her grandparents and cousin when her mother committed suicide. Lane is a quiet girl, she lives in the shadow of her flamboyant and boisterous cousin, Allegra who is fascinated by the history of the Roanoke girls, the aunts of the Lane and Allegra, all women had died young leaving an air of mystery behind. Lane’s grandparents are quite interesting, the grandfather Yates, is a charming and handsome man that women are drawn to, he has a protective nature that Lane trusts in, whilst her grandmother, Camilla, is reserved, sophisticated with a cold manner, she holds her grand daughters at a distance as if they are in the way.

All of the Roanoke girls come from troubled backgrounds, with histories of mental health problems as well as rebelling against their parents. Lane and Allegra become close friends and enjoy going out with the local boys, enjoying the first taste of love and relationships.

Like I was initially warned, this book is an incredibly intense and creepy story. It’s atmospheric, with the rolling farming landscape and the poverty of the town where the girls hang out against the cold glamour of their home. As the story flows, we see how Lane came to the point in her life when she ran away from home and why she became the woman that she became. As she tries to figure out why her cousin disappeared, she has to visit old ghosts and open wounds that she tried so hard to heal.

Occasionally there is a chapter from one of the previous Roanoke girls and with this addition, it adds a thrilling injection to the story that made it compelling reading. A creepy thriller about secrets that binds families together and tears them apart, this story gets under the skin and takes you into dark world of what goes on behind closed doors. Dark from the first page, this book is a seriously twisted and eerily sexy story filled with many twists and turns. ’The Roanoke Girls’ hits upon a taboo subject that makes for shocking and uncomfortable reading and with an ending that you will dread.

You can pre-order The Roanoke Girls from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 9th March 2017.