Skip to content

Making It Up As I Go Along By Marian Keyes

Making It Up As I Go Along’Making It Up As I Go Along’ is the latest book by Marian Keyes.

Welcome to the magnificent Making It Up as I Go Along – aka the World According to Marian Keyes™ – A bold, brilliant book bursting with Marian’s hilarious and heartfelt observations on modern life, love and much, much else besides. Such as? you are determined to ask. Well, how about her guide to breaking up with your hairdresser? Or the warning she has for us all after a particularly traumatic fling with fake tan. There’s the pure and bounteous joy of the nail varnish museum. Not to mention the very best lies to tell if you find yourself on an Arctic cruise. She has words of advice for those fast approaching fifty. And she’s here to tell you the secret secret truth about writers – well, this one anyway.

For fans of Marian, ‘Making It Up As I Go Along’ is the perfect return from the Irish author.

The book is a collection of articles that have appeared in various publications, as well as her monthly newsletter and there are a few treats in the form of some unpublished work.

The book is cleverly divided into sections and these sections feature a wide spectrum of Marian’s life. The sections include, health and beauty, friends and family and other issues that have impacted the author over the years.

I loved this book so much. The stories on average are about four or five pages long so it’s quite easy to get carried away and read it on one sitting. I regularly found myself regaling my colleagues about Marian’s adventures and thoughts and at one point did have everyone saying “Sweet baba jay” one lunchtime. There are so many great stories packed into this vibrant book, that it’s hard to pinpoint a favourite tale but I particularly enjoyed the story of Marian’s new shoes and Bono.

A cleverly written book with unique narrative, that gives an wonderful insight into the mind of one of Ireland’s best loved authors, ‘Making It Up As I Go Along’ is a honest, poignant and refreshing book, that was impossible to put down.

You can buy Making It Up As I Go Along from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Leave a Reply

You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS