Skip to content

The Christmas Gift By Sue Moorcroft

The Christmas Gift‘The Christmas Gift’ is the latest book by Sue Moorcroft.

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet. To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye? Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

‘The Christmas Gift’ is a tender tale of love, friendship and new beginnings

The story is seen through the narrative of Georgine and Joe Blackthorn, who’s just started to work at the school that Georgine teaches at. He’s a shy and awkward character, that everyone warms to particularly Georgine who feels that she already knows Joe, but can’t quite put her finger on how. Joe remembers Georgine from his school days and it seems that his childhood crush hasn’t gone away, as seeing her brings back old feelings.

Georgine hasn’t had the easiest life, with an ex that’s left her with a load of bills and debt, a sick father and unexpected messy flatmate, Georgine feels that she’s run out of luck as Christmas draws closer and she’s unable to make ends meet. She finds an unlikely friend in Joe, who happens to be there for her, when things become particularly bad and money friendship and finance along the way.

This book is a heartwarming story that will warm the cockles of your heart. The characters are interesting particularly Joe with his murky past and also Georgine. I felt such sympathy for her and longed for her to have a bit of good luck for a change.

With funny situations and a sparkle of Christmas charm, ‘The Christmas Gift’ was a lovely book to curl up with over the Christmas holidays.

You can buy A Christmas Gift from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Every Colour Of You By Amelia Mandeville

Every Colour of You‘Every Colour Of You’ is the latest book by Amelia Mandeville.

Zoe’s life is full of colour. A fan of impromptu yoga, inspirational quotes and experimenting with hair dye, she’s on a mission to make the most of each and every day – even if she is currently spending most of her time behind a checkout till. Then she meets Tristan. The rumour is that since his dad died, Tristan’s life has fallen apart. No one has seen him for months. But now he’s reappeared, does that mean he’s back to ‘normal’? Zoe soon realises Tristan is struggling with a sadness that she can’t possibly understand and becomes determined to bring a world of colour back into his life. But the harder she tries, the more she realises it’s something she can’t fix – and in trying to put him back together, a part of her is beginning to fall apart.

‘Every Colour Of You’ is a tender and sweet story that made for bittersweet reading.

When Zoe and Tristan meet one day, their lives change forever. Still recovering from his father’s death, Tristan is finding life hard but luckily Zoe comes into his life offering a welcome distraction from the dark clouds with her vibrant colours and personality.

The story is seen from the narrative of both characters and the words seem to spring off the pages with Zoe. She’s fun, outspoken and is always wanting to make things better and more worthwhile for Tristan, she wants to make him happy and thinks that she can do it in her own unique way. Whilst Tristan is quiet and subdued, he finds himself warming to Zoe’s eccentricies and enjoyed the unexpected girl that has came into his life.

But as much as he enjoys this new friendship, he also has to deal with the struggles of mental health and this can make for dark and unsettling reading as Tristan contemplates life and his own mortality.

The story is a bittersweet tale of friendship and new beginnings, as one friend looks out for the other to make their life happier with a little bit of colour and fun. The scenes with the characters are fun and sweet and I loved how the pair of them bounced off each other, with their wit and their honesty in life.

‘Every Colour Of You’ is Amelia’s debut novel and it’s a sweet one at that. Heartfelt and uplifting, this book is about real life struggles and issues that is written tenderly with a splash of humour.

You can buy Every Colour Of You from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Mad By Chloe Esposito

Mad‘Mad’ is Chloe Esposito’s debut novel.

Alvie has always been in the shadow of her glamorous sister Beth. So when she’s invited to her identical twin’s luxurious Sicilian villa, Alvie accepts. Who wouldn’t want seven days in the sun? With Beth’s hot husband, the cute baby, the fast car and of course, the money. The thing is it’s all too good to let go and her sister Beth isn’t the golden girl she appears. It’s Alvie’s chance to steal the life that she deserves. If she can get away with it.

‘Mad’ is the first book in new series by Chloe Esposito and it’s an absolute cracker of a story, fast paced, edgy with drama and sass this book has a heroine that made for delicious read.

Alvie is fed up with life, having spent most of her life scrimping and saving, she both loves and hates her identical twin sister for having the life, that Alvie is convinced was meant for her. Beth is married to the man that Alvie only loved. With a rich life and settled in Italy, Beth was always the favoured twin of the two, much to Alvina’s discontent. The favourite twin, the prettiest and the apple of her mother’s eye, Beth is oblivious to the world that Alvina lives. So, when Beth invites Alvine to visit her new family, Alvina reluctantly takes the opportunity to reflect on her life and get a bit of sun. But whilst discovering the perks of the lifestyles of the rich and the famous, Alvie unearths some hidden truths and discovers a new talent.

I absolutely adored this book. Alvie is crude, rude and is unapologetic for her reckless behaviour, also having spent her life living in her sisters shadow, made it easy for me to sympathise and understand her issues in life. The story flows at a nice easy pace and with the picturesque location of Sicily, it was easy to settle into the book.

The narrative is seen solely through Alvina’s eyes and this makes for fun and entertaining reading, that was really enjoyable. Witty from the first page and riddled with lies and suspense, ‘Mad’ is an excellent first book of a new series called ‘Mad, Bad and Dangerous To Know’ and I really look forward to reading the rest, perfect for fans of Rebecca Chance and Tilly Bagshaw.

You can buy Mad from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Secrets Of Primrose Square By Claudia Carroll

The Secrets Of Primrose Square‘The Secrets Of Primrose Square’ is the latest book by Claudia Carroll.

It’s late at night and the rain is pouring down on the Dublin city streets. A mother is grieving for her dead child. She stands silently outside the home of the teenage boy she believes responsible. She watches. In a kitchen on the same square, a girl waits anxiously for her mum to come home. She knows exactly where she is, but she knows she cannot reach her. A few doors down, and a widow sits alone in her room. She has just delivered a bombshell to her family during dinner and her life is about to change forever. And an aspiring theatre director has just moved in to a flat across the street. Her landlord is absent, but there are already things about him that don’t quite add up. Welcome to Primrose Square.

‘The Secrets Of Primrose Square’ is Claudia’s first book with her new publisher and it’s a lovely tale.

The story is seen through the perspective of four different women all dealing with heartbreak and new beginnings. Susan can’t deal with the sudden death of her daughter, she takes her anger and hurt on those around her including Melissa, her other daughter. Melissa is having to deal with her grief alone, only a young girl she’s having to be the adult in the family, as her father is away with the army. Until, one day her mother breaks down and is committed to hospital. Melissa is sent to live with her neighbour called Jayne, a widow, who’s recently found love online much to the disgust of her son and daughter in law. And newcomer to the area Nancy has escaped London life to direct ‘Pride and Prejudice’ at a Dublin theatre.

All four different women are at difficult times in their lives, bereavement, loneliness, harassment and together they form an unlikely bond, helping each other and providing the well needed support they all need.

The women are all from different generations and this gives the story an interesting slant to the tale, as their experiences and wisdom are all able to help each other.

Like Claudia’s previous books, the story is filled with Irish wit and charm, that really made for sweet reading. The relationships between the women are lovely to read, as they grow from tentative women into strong and determined ladies.

A poignant tale filled with emotion and insights in female relationships from mother and daughter to friends, ‘The Secrets Of Primrose Square’ is a modern story of friendship and starting over.

You can buy The Secrets of Primrose Square from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Silent Patient By Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient‘The Silent Patient’ is Alex Michaelides debut novel.

There has been much hype and talk over the ‘The Silent Patient’, Orion Books highly anticipated debut for 2019 and after reading the book in two sittings, I fully understand the excitement.

The story is seen through the narrative of successful artist Alicia and her therapist Theo, who has been quite obsessed with the woman after she allegedly killed her husband, but no one knows the true story as Alicia, has never spoke from that fateful day. She’s now in a psychiatric hospital and Theo is making it his job to get her to speak and reveal all.

The story flashes back and forward between both characters and gives the reader a clear insight into both people. Before the incident, Alicia was a highly regarded artist married to a top photographer, whose life everyone envied. Her childhood was troubled and these troubles were translated into her paintings that sold out art galleries.

Theo is determined that he will be able to find the answers to the questions, his colleagues were unable to and with connecting with Alicia’s family and friends, is able to get a clearer picture of the woman she once was and has now become.

Now, working in a volatile environment, where his life could potentially be at risk, Theo begins to embark on a tentative friendship with Alicia, hoping to get her to talk.

The story is bleak and riddled with suspense that really leaves the edger on tender hooks, both the main characters are extremely flawed and they use this to their advantage in their strange relationship. The flashbacks to the past and present are cleverly written and tie deliciously together in the end, when all is revealed. It’s so skilfully written and flows at a nice pace that really pulls the reader in, wanting to know more about Alicia and the actions of that night.

I genuinely loved this book and thought it was one of the best psychological debuts that I’ve read in a while, a strong plot, a mute woman with a story to tell and a man determined to know the truth.

It was tense, atmospheric and had a twist that really did blow my mind, for all fans of psychological thrillers, ‘The Silent Patient’ needs to be at the top of your TBR pile!

You can pre-order The Silent Patient from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 6th February 2019.