Skip to content

Book Tour – Just For The Holidays By Sue Moorcroft

Just For The HolidaysToday on the book tour for Sue Moorcroft’s, ‘Just For The Holidays’, Sue tells us ten ways to make holidays more bearable.

Ten ways to make coming home from your holiday bearable.
No matter how fantastic your holiday, you’ll face the inevitable flatness of returning to reality. It may involve chores that have stacked up in your absence or return-to-work blues. (Or both.) They only sully the memory of your holiday and make you wonder whether it was worth the aggro. It was worth it because holidays allow you to decompress, try new things, have fun and gain a lot of weight. Here are a few ideas that might ease the pain.

1. Before you go away, make an online grocery order for an appropriate date/time upon your return. It saves you a) having to think about something as mundane as a shopping list when your head is still full of fun stuff b) having to trek around the supermarket.

2. Use a laundry service for that first huge wash when everyone tips out their suitcases. I was surprised how reasonable it can be – less than a modest meal out for, say, four people. Choose one that does the ironing too.

3. Consider doing a labour swap with a friend. While you’re away they cut your lawn/feed your cat/water your plants – and when they’re away you do theirs.

4. Book an extra day’s holiday so you don’t have to return to work the very day after you’ve travelled home. It gives you one last lie in and an opportunity to get over it if you’ve had a long/hassled trip.

5. Don’t get on the scales for at least a fortnight after you return. There’s no point making yourself feel bad about a few extra pounds. Returning to your usual routine will take care of some of them naturally. (Probably. Or possibly, anyway.)

6. This is a really boring one – get anything you can up to date before you go. Coming back to those five loads of washing you conveniently forgot or that bulging inbox you ignored is just not worth the stress. Particularly if you’re going to ignore points 1-4.

7. Show off your suntan and all your holiday pix to your friends.

8. Plan something good to coincide with your homecoming. I once returned to a completed extension to the house and enjoying that took all the pain out of my return.

9. Have a little coming-home pamper session, either self-adminstered or at the salon.

10. Book another holiday.

You can buy Just for the Holidays from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops from 18th May 2017.

Cover Reveal – The Bed And Breakfast On The Beach By Kat French

The Bed And Breakfast On The BeachKat French is back with a gorgeous new book called ‘The Bed And Breakfast On The Beach’ and after loving her previous book called ‘The Piano Man Project, I’m looking forward to it.

What the back cover says

Three women throw caution to the wind and move from England to run a B&B on a Greek island. They’ve all reached a point in their lives when the need a change – one divorced, on empty nester, one made redundant from the job she’s held since leaving school many moons ago. The move test their friendship to the limits, brings errant husbands running their own metamorphosis, but will they choose to stay in Greece when the holiday season winds down?

The perfect escapist read for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson – transport yourself to a Greek island and forget about your troubles with this glorious summery romance.

You can pre-order The Bed and Breakfast on the Beach from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 22nd June 2017.

Book Tour – The Summer House By The Sea By Jenny Oliver

Jenny OliverToday on the book tour for Jenny Oliver’s new book, ‘The Summer House By The Sea’, Jenny talks about the relationships in the book.

One of the themes in the book I found the most interesting was Ava’s relationship with her brother. Have you any experience on how relationships change over time? How did you explore this in the book?

I have two older sisters and the way our relationships have changed over time has always been really interesting to me. I remember when I was very young my eldest sister comforting me when I was sobbing that Christmas Day was over (I know!!), I remember lounging in front of the TV with my middle sister eating packets of Maryland Cookies while glued to ‘Home and Away’, I remember holidays with all of us crammed in the back of the car for the five-hour drive to Cornwall – fighting and fidgeting and one of us being sick outside the Little Chef. We knew everything about each other. And then we got older and gradually each one of us left home – and I’m pleased to say I got over the trauma of Boxing Day – and suddenly we were catching up for a lunch or meeting for a drink and dinner, working out logistics with in-laws for Christmas and Easter and no longer simply stretching out on the sofa together to while away hours in front of daytime TV. And, as so often also happens with friendships over time, rather than know everything about each other we knew the bits that were shared in phone calls or catch-ups, we squeezed each other in among dots on our phone calendars, partners, children, work, Twitter scrolling. And of course, that’s just life.

The Summer House By The Sea

But when I had my baby I suddenly realised that I needed more than that. I needed a sofa that I could sit on, eyes glazed, and be fed chocolate biscuits and watch crap TV (hopefully while someone else cooed over my child) and I found that it was those very same relationships that I could call on again. The muscle memory was still there – this time the tears weren’t because Christmas Day was over but the simple fact I’d only had an hour and half sleep. And as a result of that time, I understood more clearly the ebb and flow of friendships and relationships – that it’s hard to hold onto that intense, know-everything closeness that you get from living together or growing up together. Relationships change as we change, but the best ones, when you need them, can be summoned back up in an instant. And this is the essence of what I wanted to explore with Ava and Rory in ‘The Summerhouse by the Sea’.

You can buy The Summer House by the Sea from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Book News – Big Sexy Love By Kirsty Greenwood

Big Sexy LoveDeliciously exciting news as Kirsty Greenwood is returning to our bookshelves in June with her new book called ‘Big Sexy Love’

What the back cover says

Olive Brewster is a scaredy cat. She doesn’t do new or risky. She’s happy enough with her job at the local market, it’s cool that she has no boyfriend to fret over, she even likes that she still lives in her childhood home. No drama, no fuss, no problems. Everything is fine. Super duper fine.

Except … Olive’s best friend in the world​, Birdie, is dying.

Birdie has one final wish. She wants to track down her first love, Chuck, and because she’s stuck in the hospital she needs Olive’s help to do it. But there’s a teeny problem: Chuck is somewhere in New York and Olive has never even left her home town, let alone roamed the crazy streets of Manhattan.

As if the big city isn’t scary enough, Olive has to contend with Seth, a cocky comedy TV writer who thinks she’s a joke; Anders, a bored socialite who’s taken a shine to her; and the fact that no matter how hard she tries to track down Chuck, he doesn’t seem to want to be found.

Can Olive learn to overcome her fears, abandon her old safe routine and fulfil her best friend’s last wish? It’s going to take extra bravery, one badass attitude and a whole lot of big sexy love to make this happen…

Get ready to laugh your socks off with this standout romantic comedy, bursting with get-the-giggles moments, heart-melting romance and characters you’ll never forget!

You can pre-order Big Sexy Love from Amazon and will be available to buy for only £2.99 from 29th June 2017.

Tasmina Perry Reveals New Book – The Pool House

The Pool House‘Sunday Times’ bestselling author, Tasmina Perry is returning to our bookshelves this Autumn with her new book called ‘The Pool House’.

What the back cover says

LAST SUMMER
When Alice Holliday is found drowned in the pool of a Hamptons beach house, her death is ruled an accident. Alice was troubled that night, had had too much to drink. And, as her house mates said, she couldn’t swim.

THIS SUMMER
If Jem Chapman had realised she was taking the place of a dead woman, she might not have agreed to the proposal. An invitation to spend the summer in an exclusive Hamptons beach house, how could she say no?

SECRETS WORTH KILLING FOR
But when Jem gets to know her glamorous new house mates, she realises each of them has something to hide. Did Alice stumble into dangerous territory? And who will go to any lengths to keep a person quiet?

‘The Pool House’ most definitely sounds like a thrilling pool side read!

You can pre-order The Pool House from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th September 2017.