Skip to content

Her Perfect Lies By Lana Newton

Her Perfect Lies‘Her Perfect Lies’ is the latest book by Lana Newton.

When Claire Wright wakes in hospital, she doesn’t recognise the person staring back at her in the mirror. She’s told that she has the perfect life: she’s beautiful, famous, with a husband and a house to die for. But Claire can’t remember anything from before the devastating car crash that’s left her injured. And now she’s surrounded by strangers, saying they’re her family and friends. As Claire discovers the person she used to be she must also unravel the mystery that surrounds the accident. But the more Claire uncovers, the more she will be forced to face up to the dark secrets from her life before.

This is perfect thriller to get absorbed in and with an unreliable narrator leaves the reader guessing right until the final page.

Seen from the perspective of Claire, who wakes up from a coma after an accident with no memory and having to rely on what friends and family tell her to be true. Led to believe that the life she has is perfect, Claire begins to question her life especially after her father also wakes up from a coma having been involved in the same accidents and also makes her doubt everything that she was led to believe.

As the story progresses, we see a different side to Claire, prior to her accident she was a successful ballet dancer, she wasn’t the nicest of people to her family and friends and as people remind her of her old life, it gives her time to reflect and try to piece together her life and the memories and dreams that haunt her. In an unhappy marriage, she struggles to make sense of what is real and what she is led to believe.

The story isn’t that long and could be absorbed in one sitting. Cleverly written with a character that you initially feel an empathy for due to her situation, you begin to change your opinion of her as people relieve what type of person she was before the accident, vain and unfaithful. She’s not quite the perfect girl that her father tells her.

As Claire tries to piece together her old and new life, she finds herself revealing secrets that were long hidden from her life and coincidentally puts her own life at risk.

Thrilling with drama, suspicious characters and twists throughout, ‘Her Perfect Lies’ is a fantastic psychological thriller that made for unpredictable reading.

You can buy ‘Her Perfect Lies’ from Amazon.

Once, Twice, Three Times An Aisling By Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

Once, Twice, Three Times An AislingThe fabulous Aisling is back for a third time with the latest book by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen called ‘Once, Twice, Three Times An Aisling’.

Aisling is thirty, flirty and frazzled. But – just when she should finally be feeling all grown-up – she’s floundering. Because when you’re recovering from a broken heart as well as struggling to keep your café as sizzling as your award-winning sausages, it’s hard to feel you’ve really made it as an adult. Which is just the moment for the unexpected to strike and complicate everything. Now is not the time for a delicious new man to show up, her best friend to demand the hen do of the century and a surprise celebrity appearance. But Aisling, never one to worry about having too much on her plate, rolls up her sleeves: she’s got this. Until she discovers that being a proper grown-up means you can’t do everything. Sometimes you will let someone down. But will it be those she loves, or herself?

Aisling is back with a bang and I have to admit, the latest book is my favourite series. Again the writing duo have created a magnificent story filled with empathy, charm and humour that made for delicious reading. Our favourite Irish lass is back and this time it’s all about being the perfect bridesmaid to her best friend, catering for a secret celebrity wedding as well as trying to move on with her broken heart and face her 30th birthday. But in true Aisling style, she puts everyone before herself to make sure that everyone has their perfect day.

I’ve always found Aisling to be one of the most relatable characters that I’ve had the joy of reading in a while. Like every woman, she’s terrified of turning 30 as she hasn’t achieved the same as everyone else and is pressure from society, with everyone settling down around her. She’s kind with a huge heart and a sensible mind, but she genuinely makes me laugh out loud with her wit and the dialogue throughout.

An Irish heartwarming tale at its very finest, ‘Once, Twice, Three Times An Aisling’ is filled with warmth, Irish charm and a bittersweet ending that really leaves that reader on the edge of their seat. This book is well worthy of its recent Irish Books Awards nomination for Book of the Year and is a fantastic return to everyone’s favourite Irish protagonist

You can buy ‘Once, Twice, Three Times An Aisling’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops from 19th September 2019.

Murder By The Minster By Helen Cox

Murder By The Minster‘Murder By The Minster’ is the latest book by Helen Cox.

It’s a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie’s ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead – with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart – and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone – let alone Owen, who she adored. Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there’s only one thing to do: she’s going to investigate Owen’s murder herself. She’s read hundreds of mystery novels – how hard can it be?
With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library’s eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work. She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she’d ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven’t finished killing yet…

I spent my Sunday curled up with this book and I couldn’t put it down until I reached the final page. The first book in the new Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mystery series is a fantastic introduction to a new mystery series and one that I wholeheartedly hope there will be more books to come.

The story is seen solely through the narrative of librarian Kitt Hartley, who finds herself using her own investigative skills to solve a murder of her best friend’s Evie’s ex boyfriend. As Evie finds herself the prime suspect in the murder, Kitt is determined to solve the crime using her own wit and the skills she has learned from her love of Agatha Christie novels. But as Kitt delves deeper into the crime and the bodies pile up much to the disgruntlement of the Yorkshire police, particularly a handsome detective called Halloran.

I loved the characters in this book, particularly Kitt and her librarian assistant Grace as the pair piece together the evidence and clues they have gathered along the way. They are a comical duo who make for entertaining reading with their banter. Throughout the story, there are many suspicious characters that leave you wondering if they are the murderers.

Gripping from the first page, this cleverly written book is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Miss Marple. Set in a sleepy village with a pair of witty and cunning librarians at the centre of the drama, ‘Murder By The Minster’ is an exciting new series that is riddled with mystery and drama throughout.

You can buy ‘Murder By The Minster’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Final Reckoning By Margaret James

The Final Reckoning‘The Final Reckoning’ is the latest book by Margaret James.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager she witnessed the aftermath of a violent murder involving her lover’s father. The killer was never found. Traumatised by what she saw, Lindsay had no choice but to leave her home village of Hartley Cross and its close-knit community behind. Now, years later, she must face up to the terrible memories that still haunt her. But will confronting the past finally allow Lindsay to heal, or will her return to Hartley Cross unearth dangerous secrets and put the people she has come to care about most at risk?

The story is seen through the narrative of Lindsay, a young woman who has to return home after her mother’s death to sort out her mother’s belongings whilst organising the funeral. She hasn’t been home for years, after the gruesome discovery of her boyfriend’s who was murdered. No one was ever charged with the murder and Lindsay hopes with returning to the village that she will get answers to some unanswered questions as well as seeing Simon, the boy who’s father has cruelly murdered.

The story is set in a bleak and cliquey village where everyone knows everyone’s business and Lindsey finds herself the subject of village gossip with her reappearance, also with the addition of her annoying flat mate Nick, who becomes quite a hero throughout the book. I really enjoyed the mystery and magic of this story, with enchanting women who turned men’s heads and the relationship between Lindsey and Nick which added some humour to dark and unsettling story.

Gripping from the first page, ‘The Final Reckoning’ is twisted and haunting tale about obsession, love and loss that isn’t for the faint hearted.

You can buy ‘The Final Reckoning’ from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops.

Coming Home To Winter Island By Jo Thomas

Coming Home To Winter Island‘Coming Home To Winter Island’ is the latest book by Jo Thomas.

Ruby’s singing career is on the verge of hitting the big time, when her voice breaks. Fearing her career is over, she signs up for a retreat in Tenerife to recover. But an unexpected call from a stranger on a remote Scottish island takes her on a short trip to sort out some family business. It’s time to go and see the grandfather she’s never met. City girl Ruby knows she will be happy to leave the windswept beaches behind as quickly as she can, especially as a years-old family rift means she knows she won’t be welcome at Teach Mhor. But as she arrives at the big house overlooking the bay, she finds things are not as straightforward as she might have thought.

This book was a joy to read from the start to the very end. Filled with relatable and heartwarming characters, I curled up and read it one sitting, it was such an engaging read.
The story is about a young woman who’s dream of becoming a recording artist is put on hold when she loses her voice and finds herself in the back end of beyond looking after a grandfather that she never met. It’s whilst looking her grandfather and trying to sort out his property so that he is properly cared for, she meets Lachlan, a man who is annoying but also makes her see life from a different perspective. It’s whilst living in Wales during the cold Christmas season, Ruby adapts to a new life and getting to know the family that she never knew she had.

Charming from the first page, this book was a lovely story with friendly and heartwarming characters, with the gruff and eccentric grandfather who’s convinced that Ruby is his late friend to the charismatic who’s annoyingly honest.

Life affirming and sweet, ‘Coming Home To Winter Island’ is a romantic and fun story that is the perfect accompaniment to the cold winter evenings.

You can buy ‘Coming Home To Winter Island’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.