Skip to content

Book News – Big Sexy Love By Kirsty Greenwood

Big Sexy LoveDeliciously exciting news as Kirsty Greenwood is returning to our bookshelves in June with her new book called ‘Big Sexy Love’

What the back cover says

Olive Brewster is a scaredy cat. She doesn’t do new or risky. She’s happy enough with her job at the local market, it’s cool that she has no boyfriend to fret over, she even likes that she still lives in her childhood home. No drama, no fuss, no problems. Everything is fine. Super duper fine.

Except … Olive’s best friend in the world​, Birdie, is dying.

Birdie has one final wish. She wants to track down her first love, Chuck, and because she’s stuck in the hospital she needs Olive’s help to do it. But there’s a teeny problem: Chuck is somewhere in New York and Olive has never even left her home town, let alone roamed the crazy streets of Manhattan.

As if the big city isn’t scary enough, Olive has to contend with Seth, a cocky comedy TV writer who thinks she’s a joke; Anders, a bored socialite who’s taken a shine to her; and the fact that no matter how hard she tries to track down Chuck, he doesn’t seem to want to be found.

Can Olive learn to overcome her fears, abandon her old safe routine and fulfil her best friend’s last wish? It’s going to take extra bravery, one badass attitude and a whole lot of big sexy love to make this happen…

Get ready to laugh your socks off with this standout romantic comedy, bursting with get-the-giggles moments, heart-melting romance and characters you’ll never forget!

You can pre-order Big Sexy Love from Amazon and will be available to buy for only £2.99 from 29th June 2017.

Tasmina Perry Reveals New Book – The Pool House

The Pool House‘Sunday Times’ bestselling author, Tasmina Perry is returning to our bookshelves this Autumn with her new book called ‘The Pool House’.

What the back cover says

LAST SUMMER
When Alice Holliday is found drowned in the pool of a Hamptons beach house, her death is ruled an accident. Alice was troubled that night, had had too much to drink. And, as her house mates said, she couldn’t swim.

THIS SUMMER
If Jem Chapman had realised she was taking the place of a dead woman, she might not have agreed to the proposal. An invitation to spend the summer in an exclusive Hamptons beach house, how could she say no?

SECRETS WORTH KILLING FOR
But when Jem gets to know her glamorous new house mates, she realises each of them has something to hide. Did Alice stumble into dangerous territory? And who will go to any lengths to keep a person quiet?

‘The Pool House’ most definitely sounds like a thrilling pool side read!

You can pre-order The Pool House from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th September 2017.

The Last Piece Of My Heart By Paige Toon

The Last Piece Of My HeartPaige Toon is back with a new book called ‘The Last Piece Of My Heart’.

Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel. But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change.

Paige is back with another beautiful tale, a story that whisks you anyway to many different countries packed with exotic and handsome men and adorable babies.

In this book, we meet Bridget who was originally introduced to us in one of Paige’s earlier books, ‘Thirteen Weddings’. She’s happily working away on her blog, reuniting with old boyfriends and putting ghosts to rest until her agent asks her to ghost write the follow up novel to a best seller. Sadly, the author Nicki, passed away before finishing and Sara, Bridget’s agent thinks she would be perfect for the job.

But, for Bridget to finish the book, Bridget must delve into the world and thoughts of the author and this brings her to Cornwall, where she lives in her fathers old motor home called Hermie and she spends her days with the widowers husband and their baby sweetly called April. It’s during this time with Charlie and April, that Bridget forges a friendship with the pair and finds herself discovering new things about herself whilst finishing the challenging novel.

As per usual, Paige has written another book that tugs at the heartstrings with an adorable baby with a sweet and inquisitive nature but also makes for poignant reading as she reads the private thoughts of a young woman whilst intruding on a mans grieving.

Bridget is the life and soul of the paper, she’s fun, outspoken and not used to children, until she met April, she feared them but immediately falls for the little girl. As she researches into the book, we realise that she’s not quite as settled as we thought, as she tries to deal with a long distance relationship with her boyfriend in Australia, but as time goes by, she begins to wonder if he does own the last piece of her heart.

Charlie, is also another beautiful character, he’s handsome, creative and tortured as he deals with his wife’s untimely death but with Bridget suddenly thrown into his and his daughters lives, he begins to deal with his grief and she helps him realise that life can move on.

Their scenes together are wonderful, they are fun and vibrant and Bridget really does bring the best out in Charlie. I genuinely loved the couple, they were fun, relatable and most of all engaging.

A warm and sweet tale, that flowed at a lovely pace, ‘The Last Piece Of My Heart’, is a beautiful and sensitively written tale about love and loss that truly made for bittersweet reading.

You can pre-order The Last Piece of My Heart from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 18th May 2017.

Cover Reveal – Her Last Breath By Tracy Buchanan

Her Last Breath The cover has been revealed for Tracy Buchanan’s new book, ‘Her Last Breath’ and it’s very intriguing.

What the back cover says

When fifteen-year-old Poppy O’Farrell goes missing a media frenzy ensues. None of this has anything to do with lifestyle blogger Estelle Forster – so why would someone send her a picture of the missing girl and a note, claiming to know Estelle’s secrets? To find out, Estelle must return to her coastal hometown and the shameful past she thought was long behind her. A dangerous game is being played, and the answers lie in the impenetrable community Estelle once called her own.

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, C.L. Taylor and Clare Mackintosh, this addictive, twisting, emotionally powerful book will have you hooked until the very last page.

You can pre-order Her Last Breath from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 29th June 2017.

Veronica Henry

Veronica HenryVeronica Henry has worked as a scriptwriter for ‘The Archers’, ‘Heartbeat’ and ‘Holby City’ amongst many others, before turning to fiction. She won the 2014 RNA Novel of the Year award for ‘A Night On The Orient Express’. Veronica lives with her family in a village in north Devon.

  1. To readers of the blog who may not be familiar with you or your writing, can you tell us a bit about yourself and how you got into this?
    I started out typing scripts on ‘The Archers’ and it was there I realised that people need an escape from everyday life, whether from books or radio or TV. I learned a lot about storytelling from reading the scripts and hearing them recorded in the studio. I went on to become a script editor for ITV, then when I had my first child I jumped over the fence and wrote scripts for ten years. I wrote for ‘Doctors’ and ‘Heartbeat’ and ‘Holby City’. Then in 2000 I realised my real love was for books and by a miracle I got a book deal! I’m now on my 17th novel.
  2. What’s your favourite part of the writing process?
    It’s a bit of a love/hate relationship. When it’s going well it’s as if someone is dictating the story to you and it just flows through your fingers. When it goes badly you can’t imagine being able to write another word. I like naming my characters, and decorating their houses – that can hardly be called work! I also like the big emotional turning points: the confrontation or the revelation or the secret encounter And parties – I love writing a party. There are always so many things going on underneath the surface glitter.
  3. If you were to start your own book club, what authors would you ask to join?
    Oscar Wilde, Jilly Cooper, Elizabeth Jane Howard, Hemingway, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. There would probably be wine too!
  4. What do you think makes a good book?
    Character character character. As long as you care about the characters, you will be engaged – even if you don’t actually like them.
  5. Was there ever a book that you read, that didn’t live up to the hype that surrounded it and left you disappointed?
    I’m not a massive fan of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ – I know that’s controversial, but I find it a bit irritating. Though I suppose that hasn’t been hyped as such!
  6. From books to films, what’s been your favourite adaptation?
    I absolutely love ‘The Railway Children’. It’s a wonderful book but the film version wrings every drop of emotion from the pages.
  7. Who is your all time favourite character from a book?
    I’m a little bit smitten by Boris from ‘The Goldfinch’ by Donna Tartt – he is so naughty and dangerous and reckless and ingenious. He would never bore you. And I am fatally attracted to unsuitable men.
  8. If you were starting your writing journey again, would you do anything differently?
    I would learn to worry less and care more. If you enjoy your writing, it shines through in your work.
  9. The “Forever House

  10. If you were stranded on a desert island, which three books would you bring with you to pass the time?
    ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘Kitchen Confidential’ by Anthony Bourdain and ‘Madame Bovary’ in French to give me a challenge to occupy my mind.
  11. What area do you suggest a budding writer should concentrate on to further their abilities?
    All budding writers should remember that anyone can start a book, but not everyone can finish one. So keep going until you reach the end. Writing is an endurance test. It’s not enough to have a brilliant idea. It’s got to keep going for at least 300-odd pages.
  12. When sitting down to write, what is the one item you need beside you?
    My miniature Schnauzer, Zelda – who is named after Zelda Fitzgerald.
  13. And finally Veronica do you have any projects or releases on the horizon which you would like to share with the readers of the website?
    I’m writing my seventeenth novel – I can’t believe it. It’s still quite early stages – but I met someone last night and our conversation sparked something that gave me the missing ingredient. That’s why I love writing – a random encounter can develop into something really exciting.

    Oh – and my sixteenth novel ‘The Forever House’ is out now!

Follow on Twitter Veronica Henry for updates

You can buy The Forever House from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.