Skip to content

Sue Moorcroft Reveals New Book – The Little Village Christmas

The Little Village ChristmasAfter the success of her previous Christmas book, ‘The Christmas Promise’, Sue Moorcroft is back with a new book called ‘The Little Village Christmas’.

What the back cover says –

Alexia Kennedy – interior decorator extraordinaire – has been tasked with giving the little village of Middledip the community café it’s always dreamed of.

After months of fundraising, the villagers can’t wait to see work get started – but disaster strikes when every last penny is stolen. With Middledip up in arms at how this could have happened, Alexia feels ready to admit defeat.

But help comes in an unlikely form when woodsman, Ben Hardaker and his rescue owl Barney, arrive on the scene. Another lost soul who’s hit rock bottom, Ben and Alexia make an unlikely partnership.

However, they soon realise that a little sprinkling of Christmas magic might just help to bring this village – and their lives – together again…

Settle down with a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine as you devour this irresistibly festive Christmas tale. The perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

You can pre-order The Little Village Christmas from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 2nd November 2017.

The Treatment By C.L. Taylor

The Treatment‘The Treatment’ is C.L.Taylor’s first Young Adult novel.

All sixteen year old Drew Finch wants is to be left alone. She’s not interested in spending time with her mum and stepdad and when her disruptive fifteen year old brother Mason is expelled from school for the third time and sent to a residential reform academy she’s almost relieved.Everything changes when she’s followed home from school by the mysterious Dr Cobey, who claims to have a message from Mason. There is something sinister about the ‘treatment’ he is undergoing. The school is changing people. Determined to help her brother, Drew must infiltrate the Academy and unearth its deepest, darkest secrets.

I’ve been a fan of CL Taylor’s books for a number of years and I’m not the only one, as she recently won a Dead Good Reader Award for her latest book, ‘The Escape’. So, when I heard that she was releasing her first YA book, I was curious to see how she would write for the younger market and I wasn’t disappointed with this fast paced drama.

The story is seen solely through the eyes of Drew, a quick-witted girl who enjoys nothing more than surfing the web and online gaming, than interact with real people. She’s content in her life until one day, it’ all blown apart when a woman approaches her with a letter, claiming her little brother needs her help and so Drew finds herself in a cult like society, which rids rebellious teenagers and children of their personalities and turns them into clones through various methods of treatment.

Drew’s priority is stop her brother getting the treatment, that he would lose his outgoing and fun personality so the only way she can get prevent that from happening is to get inside the Residential Reform Academy. Once inside, Drew uncovers a lot of secrets about the institute and discovers a lot more than she expected in the eerie place.

I loved this story. Even though it’s set in the present and in UK, it does read like a dystopian and futuristic book. It flows at quite a fast pace with a fascinating lead character, who’s bold, outspoken and most importantly determined. She’s a confident young woman, who’s not afraid to stand up to the bullies and the staff at the school and she becomes friends with the quiet underdogs that others may take advantage off.

Throughout the story, there’s an eerie undertone, that only fully comes to a head when the story comes to an end, revealing quite a few secrets, not only to the reader but also to Drew and Mason. The book is cleverly written and it reads like an episode of ‘Black Mirror’, which is also scarily realistic. ‘The Treatment’ is an exciting introduction to a new series by C.L. Taylor and one series that all people of all ages will enjoy.

You can pre-order The Treatment from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 19th October 2017.

Together By Julie Cohen

Together‘Together’ is the latest book by Julie Cohen.

On a morning that seems just like any other, Robbie wakes in his bed, his wife Emily asleep beside him, as always. He rises and dresses, makes his coffee, feeds his dogs, just as he usually would. But then he leaves Emily a letter and does something that will break her heart. As the years go back all the way to 1962, Robbie’s actions become clearer as we discover the story of a couple with a terrible secret – one they will do absolutely anything to protect

‘Together’ is the first book that I’ve read by Julie Cohen and it was the great introduction to the author, as I consumed the book in one day. I sat up into the late hours one night unable to put the book down until I reached the final page.

What reads as a tender love story that is reminiscent of ‘The Notebook’ is instead a story that left myself and I imagine all the other readers shocked!

In this story, we meet Robbie and Emily, a couple who battled against all odds to be together. The story flows in the past and present tense and is seen through the perspective of both characters, as they fall in love, only to be broke apart but each time they drift apart, they become reconciled and their turbulent relationship continues.

The beginning of the book starts in the present tense, when Robbie wakes up one morning and leaves Emily behind never to return. And then between alternating chapters flow between the pair of them, dating back to 1962 when the couple first laid eyes on each other. The story then follows Emily, a studious young English woman and Robbie, a handsome American Navy man who women fall over. But Robbie has only eyes for Emily and even though they live in different countries, the couple move to America and hope to live happily ever after. But their life is far from perfect, with Emily estranged from her family, she faces the situation were different and hope that one day, she will have some type of relationship with her parents and only sister.

The characters are fascinating and I found myself immersed in the book, unable I found out why Emily and Robbie were against the world. On paper, they seemed the perfect couple, both respected members of the community with professional jobs with their only son Adam.

This story is beautifully written with a suspenseful atmosphere that flows throughout. It reads like a love story, but there is an underlying essence of suspense in the book that really makes the reader engage in the story and wonder why Emily and Robbie live such lonely lives.

An unique tale that grips the readers attention, this poignant tale of forbidden love that spans over five decades, is a twisted love story that really breaks the reader’s hearts.

You can buy Together from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Ellen Berry Reveals New Book – The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane

The Little Bakery On Rosemary LaneEllen Berry is back with the second in her Rosemary Lane series, called ‘The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane’

What the back cover says –

Growing up in a Yorkshire village, Roxanne Cartwright couldn’t wait to escape and make her place in the world. Now, thirty years later, she’s a fashion editor living a glamorous life of perennial singlehood in London – or so it seems to her sister Della. But when Roxanne finds her career under threat, she feels herself pulled back to the quiet village she’d been so desperate to leave.

As Roxanne reacquaints herself with life on Rosemary Lane, she slowly makes a surprising discovery: the people who live in Burley Bridge are, well, just people – different from the fashion set she’s used to, but kind and even interesting. Michael, a single dad trying to make a go of a small bakery, particularly so. Little by little, cupcake by cupcake, Roxanne and Michael fall into an unexpected friendship. Could there be a life for Roxanne after all, in the place she’s spent years trying to escape?

I loved the first book in this series and can’t wait to get reading the latest addition.

You can pre-order The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th September 2017.

99 Red Balloon Book Tour – Extract

99 Red BalloonsOn the book tour for Elisabeth Carpenter’s exciting debut, ’99 Red Balloons’, read an extract from the chilling tale.

Chapter 6

I lay the newspaper across the kitchen table, straightening out any creases. Ronnie used to like his paper ironing – fancied himself as one of those posh types. I only did it for him on Sundays, and his birthday. ‘It’s not because I like it straight,’ he’d say. ‘It stops the ink running.’

‘Get away with you,’ I said.

I wish he were still here with me. I’d iron it every day.

Oh, stop it, you daft fool. I can hear his voice in my head. You know you’d only iron it ’til the novelty of me being back wore off – two days, tops.

I sit down at the table. I’m daft having these conversations with myself, but after forty-six years of marriage I usually knew what he was going to say before he did.

Grace. That’s the little girl’s name.

She’s wearing her school uniform in the picture – it’s on the front page. I can’t make out the name of the school from the badge on her jumper, though I’m not sure if that’s my eyes or the quality of the print.

She was last seen walking into a newsagent’s.

Newsagent’s.

I look up at the wall. How odd. I wonder if she was getting sweets, just like—

The phone rings.

‘Hang on,’ I shout.

I shuffle the chair back and rest my hands on the table to lever myself up. Damn legs.

‘Wait a minute.’

I walk as fast as I can to the phone table in the living room. People can be so impatient these days.

Some folk only let it ring five or six times before they give up. Never enough time for me.

‘Hello?’ I say. Ron always used to tease me about my telephone voice. ‘Hello?’ I can’t have been too late, there’s no dial tone. ‘Is anyone there?’

I listen as hard as I can. Is my hearing getting worse? There’s traffic noise on the other end of the line. Are they calling from a mobile telephone or a big red box?

‘Can you speak louder? I can’t hear you.’

The click of the phone makes me jump. They’ve hung up, again. I replace the handset and wander back into the kitchen. Was that the fourth or fifth time this week?

What if it’s him? I can’t remember what he sounds like; I should remember his voice, shouldn’t I? It’s been too long. Every day I try not to think about how he broke my heart. I can’t even look at his photograph any more without it bringing back awful memories.

Tap, tap, tap.

The window rattles.

I still my breathing. My heart’s thumping.

I should get up and hide in the pantry, but I can’t move.

The handle turns – the back door opens slowly.

‘Morning, Mags.’

To read more from this book (which I read in a day!), buy 99 Red Balloons from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.