Skip to content

A Christmas Gift Book Tour – Extract

A Christmas GiftAlthough I’m reading ‘A Christmas Gift’ by Sue Moorcroft, I’ve not read enough for a review, so here’s an extract to give you a taster of the Christmas story.

She speeded up as she led the way back up the corridor. ‘The main building used to be a house called Lie Low, the bolthole of a Carry On star and then a shady businessman.’

They passed dance studios, Joe glancing in on students and giving the brief nods he seemed to consider sufficient interaction as Georgine continued to provide background information. ‘Acting Instrumental’s a small independent further education college. Our current roll is eighty-four students across two year-groups. The cafeteria’s through here. Oggie got funding to subsidise lunches so the take-up is high.’

She turned right.

‘This is my room.’ She laughed to see a garland of turquoise tinsel hanging from the handle. ‘I’m collecting Christmas props so people are bringing me their cast offs.’ She whisked past, heading straight for dance rehearsal.

She paused at the door. ‘This is the big rehearsal room. Maddie’s working with dance students on our Christmas show, A Very Kerry Christmas, Uncle Jones. The students are Level 3, which is the same as A Level.’ She stepped inside. At one end of the room a stage space was denoted by yellow gaffer tape on the floor where a small dance troupe was learning a routine.

Maddie glanced round without pausing in her dance. Tall and willowy, her fair hair pulled back in a plait, she flashed a smile before returning her attention to the teenagers who were mirroring her movements. The shuffles and thumps marking the rhythm of their feet made Georgine’s heart lift.

‘Forward, back,’ Maddie called, ‘step-two-three, change, step-two-three, back, leg lift, and chassé . . . and then we’re ready for the last part of act one, scene two. Let’s try it to music.’ She clicked a small remote in her hand and a lively jive tune burst onto the air.

You can buy A Christmas Gift from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Second Chances At The Log Cabin By Catherine Ferguson

Second Chances At The Log Cabin‘Second Chances At The Log Cabin’ is the latest book by Catherine Ferguson.

When Roxy proposes to her boyfriend Jackson in a moment of madness on live TV, she’s mortified when he rejects her. To escape the embarrassment, she takes a job working as baking assistant at the idyllic Log Fire Cabin. Roxy hopes the new job will take her mind off Jackson, because to her eternal annoyance, she hasn’t been able to stop thinking about him. But when Jackson turns up at the cabin unexpectedly, things begin to go wrong. With a sprinkle of snow, the help of new friends and more than a couple of mince pies, can Roxy heal her heart in time for Christmas?

I haven’t read many books by Catherine Ferguson, but after reading this festive delight, I’ll definitely be looking into other books by the romantic author.

In this story, we meet Roxy. She thinks she’s met the man of her dreams, Jackson is handsome, charming and kind, everything she is looking for in a partner. After being made redundant and Jackson offers for her to move into his house, Roxy thinks that her life is changing for the best and suddenly spurned on by Dutch courage, finds herself proposing to him on live television, only to be turned down.

Heartbroken and jobless, Roxy retreats to lick her wounds, as every time she pops out, someone recognises her reminding her of the embarrassment. But, one day when she’s feeling particularly low, she runs into Poppy, who’s stressed out with her busy job as a cook and randomly offers Roxy a job.

Not the best cook in the world but willing to give it a go, Roxy accepts and finds herself at a log cabin preparing food for strangers, pretending she’s a cuisine chef, but amongst those that she’s cooking for is Jackson with his new partner Sophie.

I loved this story, it’s a modern love story with strong characters and lots of humour and charm weaved throughout. Roxy is a lovely character, she’s fun but she’s broken from a previous relationship and scarred from a teenage incident she finds it hard to trust people. She lacks in self confidence and belief but as the story progress, we see her grow in confidence and blossom. She handles interactions with Jackson with humour and grace, even though he publicly humiliated her. Her boss Poppy is also a charming character, kind and bubbly whereas as Jackson’s new partner is quite cruel and cutting which made for entertaining reading as the personalities clashed.

A heart-warming and festive tale about love and new beginnings, ‘Second Chances at the Log Cabin’ is the perfect festive read, filled with the mouth-watering recipes, that will have the reader reaching for their mixing bowls!

You can buy Second Chances at the Log Fire Cabin from Amazon

Carole Matthews Reveals New Book – Christmas Cakes And Mistletoe Nights

Christmas Cakes And Mistletoe Nights Queen of Christmas, Carole Matthews is back with a festive book to look forward to curling up and reading called ‘Christmas Cakes And Mistletoe Nights.

What the back cover says:

Fay and Danny are madly in love and it’s all Fay’s ever dreamed of. But she left everything – including the delightful cake shop she used to run – to be with Danny on his cosy canal boat The Dreamcatcher. And as she soon finds out, making delicious cakes on the water isn’t always smooth sailing!

Then Fay gets a call from her friends, a call that sends her back to her friends and the Cake Shop in the Garden. It will be hard being away from Danny but their relationship is strong enough to survive . . . isn’t it?

Fay soon falls happily back in love with her passion for baking – especially now she’s on dry land again! – and starts to wonder if she ever should have left. With Christmas around the corner, Fay is determined that her friends will have a very merry time, but does that mean even more time away from Danny?

Indulge in this wonderful, cake-filled novel of romance and friendship.

You can pre-order Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 19th October 2017.

Sue Moorcroft Reveals New Book – The Little Village Christmas

The Little Village ChristmasAfter the success of her previous Christmas book, ‘The Christmas Promise’, Sue Moorcroft is back with a new book called ‘The Little Village Christmas’.

What the back cover says –

Alexia Kennedy – interior decorator extraordinaire – has been tasked with giving the little village of Middledip the community café it’s always dreamed of.

After months of fundraising, the villagers can’t wait to see work get started – but disaster strikes when every last penny is stolen. With Middledip up in arms at how this could have happened, Alexia feels ready to admit defeat.

But help comes in an unlikely form when woodsman, Ben Hardaker and his rescue owl Barney, arrive on the scene. Another lost soul who’s hit rock bottom, Ben and Alexia make an unlikely partnership.

However, they soon realise that a little sprinkling of Christmas magic might just help to bring this village – and their lives – together again…

Settle down with a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine as you devour this irresistibly festive Christmas tale. The perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

You can pre-order The Little Village Christmas from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 2nd November 2017.

Julia Williams Reveals New Christmas Book – It’s A Wonderful Life

It's A Wonderful LifeAvon Books author, Julia Williams is releasing a lovely new Christmas book called ‘It’s A Wonderful Life’.

The story of ‘It’s A Wonderful Life’ is –

Christmas with the family. Cosy, relaxing…and a total nightmare?

Driving home for Christmas, Beth has everything she wants. The kids and the house, the career and the husband. So why is it that when the New Year comes, she can’t stop thinking about her old college boyfriend?

Her husband Daniel is tasked with bringing a struggling school up to scratch, but when family life catches up to him, can he be a good father and a good teacher at the same time?

Beth’s sister Lou has just been dumped…again. Single and childless, she can’t help but be jealous of her sibling’s success. But is the grass really always greener?

‘It’s A Wonderful Life’is a heart-warming novel about the lives that could have been, and what happens when you start to question the choices you made…

You can pre-order It’s a Wonderful Life from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 3rd November 2016.