Skip to content

The One By John Marrs

The One’The One’ is the latest book by John Marrs.

One simple mouth swab is all it takes. One tiny DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for. A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people take the test. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

‘The One’ is the first book by John Marrs that I’ve read and I have to say that it was a tremendously chilling introduction to the author.

The story is about Match Your DNA, the time has come when relationship are no longer based on attraction and dating, now you can find your ideal partner by sending your DNA and with a simple swab, you are matched up. Divorces have decreased and wedding have increased, sadly the introduction of the test, has resulted in some relationship break ups, as the test is based on everyone and doesn’t show favouritism when it comes to current relationships, sex, colour or creed.

The story follows the lives of five people who have all signed up to the test and deals with the dramas and situations that follow when paired up with their ideal person. Ellie, is a successful business woman, she has foregone relationships in favour of establishing her businesses and making her one of the most successful people in the world, but when Match Your DNA signs her up with Tim, a fun and outgoing businessman, she releases the reins on her business professional life and finally begins to relax. Nick is all set to marry the love of his life, but when his fiancee Sally, suggests they take part in the test, they discover that they are not matched and that Nick’s match is an unlikely surprise. Meanwhile, Christopher harbours a deep secret and when his match is a policewoman, he finds himself falling in love much to his denial, whilst Jade travels across the world to meet her match but finds herself faced with a surprise and like Jade, not everything is as it seems with Mandy’s match either.

I absolutely loved this book, I loved the uniqueness and originality of the tale and if I had the chance, I would have read the book in one sitting, but unfortunately life got in the way. The mixture of characters, gives the psychological thriller, a wide range of exciting twists that made reading the book so much fun and genuinely shocking. The story escalates widely from gruesome to tender moments in rapid successions, as secrets and identities are exposed and nothing is what it seems. There are many clever elements to this tale, but the fact that the story is seen from the spectrum of such a wide range of characters made for entertaining reading.

Another thing that I also loved about this book, is how life like it felt, it felt like the situation was genuine and I could imagine in years to come, this could be seen as the way to find your life partner instead of the old fashioned way of going to bars and supermarkets.

A book that is extraordinarily dark from the first page and is certainly reminiscent of the controversial ‘Black Mirror’ series. ‘The One’ is a hugely entertaining story that is cleverly written and pulls the reader in and spits them out lusting for more. I loved it!

You can pre-order The One from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th May 2017.

Scarlett Bailey

Scarlett BaileyScarlett Bailey has loved writing stories since childhood. Before writing novels she worked as a waitress, cinema usherette and bookseller. Scarlett also writes novels under her real name Rowan Coleman. Currently she lives in Hertfordshire with her husband, five children and a very large collection of beautiful shoes.

  1. To the readers of the website, can you tell us a bit about yourself?
    Hello, I’m Scarlett Bailey, and I and the not very secret alter ego, of Novelist, Rowan Coleman, although I am younger and prettier then she is, and I am a better disco dancer.
  2. You write under the pseudonym of Scarlett Bailey. What is the difference in Scarlett’s and Rowan’s writing?
    Well, I write really fun, whimsical, romantic comedies, that have lots of charm and heart, and hot men and kissing. Rowan writes books that a little more thoughtful and serious, though there’s still humour and kissing.
  3. What’s the best thing about being a Christmas writer?
    Being able to eat mince pies from July as research.
  4. If you were starting your writing journey again, would you do anything differently?
    Nothing, honestly. I really mean that. You have to try and write, learn your craft, read a lot of books, have a life, think about the reasons you want to write (never do it for money or glory, there’s not much of that) take the ups with the down, the rough with the smooth, the stubble with the clean shaven.
  5. What do you enjoy most about Christmas?
    Chocolate Oranges. And buying presents for other people, I like to try and get something that will make their eyes light up.
  6. What book did you read that made you decide to become an author?
    I don’t think there was one book, I think there were hundreds, maybe thousands. But I suppose actually, when I read ‘High Fidelity’ by Nick Hornby, I thought, ‘Oh that’s the kind of writer I’d like to be.
  7. What is the hardest part of the writing process?
    The middle bit, where it feels like walking through treacle.
  8. If your latest book ‘Two Weddings And A Baby’ was adapted for screen, who do you imagine playing the roles of Tamsyn and Jed?
    Good question!!! I don’t know, actually…. what do the readers think?
  9. What’s been the proudest moment of your writing career to date?
    Well, that Rowan Coleman’s latest book ‘The Memory Book’ has been selected for the Richard and Judy Book club Autumn selection, which was pretty, pretty special. She hasn’t shut up about it.
  10. Who is your favourite literary hero/heroine?
    Jane Eyre, I love her.
  11. Was there ever a book that left you disappointed?
    Many, but I’m too classy to name them here.
  12. 12. And finally Scarlett, do you have any new projects coming up on the horizon?
    I am thinking about two more novels based around the Thorne Family, there are two more sisters that have stories yet to be told, brilliant Cordelia and wonderful Keira.

Follow Scarlett Bailey on Twitter Scarlett Bailey for updates or check out her website at Rowan Coleman

Rowan Coleman’s New Book – The Memory Book

The Memory BookI am so excited the reveal that RoNA winning author Rowan Coleman will be returning to our bookshelves next year with her new book called ‘The Memory Book’.

The story of ‘The Memory Book’ is –

The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address…

What would happen if your memory of these began to fade?

Is it possible to rebuild your life? Raise a family? Fall in love again?

When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold onto the past when her future is slipping through her fingers…?

Credited as perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, ‘The Memory Book’ sounds like another poignant tale from the author. I think we will most definitely need to have the tissues ready for this one!

You can buy The Memory Book from Amazon and will be available to buy from 27th February 2014.