Skip to content

S.D Robertson Reveals New Book – Stand By Me

Stand By MeS.D Robertson has revealed the name of his third book called ‘Stand By Me’.

What the back cover says –

Lisa and Elliot have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful.

Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again.

With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas…

A heartwarming story perfect for fans of Keith Stewart and Jojo Moyes, that will leave you with a tear in your eye but hope in your heart.

You can pre-order Stand By Me from Amazon and will be available from good bookshops from 11th January 2018.

Amanda Robson Reveals New Book – Guilt

GuiltAmanda Robson is back with a new book in 2018 called ‘Guilt’.

What the back cover says –

When the body of a woman is found stabbed to death, the blame falls to her twin sister. But who stabbed who? And which one is now the woman behind the bars?

Zara and Miranda have always supported each other. But then Zara meets Seb, and everything changes. Handsome, charismatic and dangerous, Seb threatens to tear the sisters’ lives apart – but is he really the one to blame? Or are deeper resentments simmering beneath the surface?

As the sisters’ relationship is stretched to the brink, a traumatic incident in Seb’s past begins to rear its head and soon all three are locked in a psychological battle that will leave someone dead. The question is: who?

Looking forward to this one!

You can pre-order Guilt from Amazon and will be available to buy good bookshops from 19th April 2018.

The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane By Ellen Berry

The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane’The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane’ is the second book in the Rosemary Lane series.

Ellen Berry is back with a delicious new book, that is a lovely return to Rosemary Lane.

Growing up in a Yorkshire village, Roxanne Cartwright couldn’t wait to escape and make her place in the world. Now, thirty years later, she’s a fashion editor living a glamorous life of perennial singlehood in London – or so it seems to her sister Della. But when Roxanne finds her career under threat, she feels herself pulled back to the quiet village she’d been so desperate to leave. As Roxanne reacquaints herself with life on Rosemary Lane, she slowly makes a surprising discovery: the people who live in Burley Bridge are, well, just people – different from the fashion set she’s used to, but kind and even interesting. Michael, a single dad trying to make a go of a small bakery, particularly so. Little by little, cupcake by cupcake, Roxanne and Michael fall into an unexpected friendship. Could there be a life for Roxanne after all, in the place she’s spent years trying to escape

This time we meet Roxanne, who’s sister we met in the first book of the Rosemary Lane series called Della.

Roxanne is the fashion director of a popular women’s magazine, she’s content in her life, looking forward to celebrating her boyfriend’s Sean birthday, as his fiftieth looms closer. But, her life takes an unexpected turn when, both her job and relationship are suddenly looking doubtful and she agrees with her scatty boss to take a sabbatical.

Roxanne, then retires to the countryside to spend time with Della as she prepares for the reopening of her bookshop. Roxanne, loves the slower pace of life and embraces the daily walks with Della’s dog and getting to know the handsome baker who becomes her friend.

But, it’s whilst she takes the time to reflect and relax, Roxanne begins to put her own life into perspective and begins to wonder if city life is still for her.

Roxanne is a lovely character, she’s kind with a huge heart and is looking out for others, particularly her elderly neighbour, Isabelle. The pair of them have a sweet relationship, there for each other when they are in trouble, their scenes make for tender reading. Roxanne, really comes to life when she’s living in the village, away from stress and drama, she relishes in the quietness and serenity and loves helping Della with her bookshop.

This book is sweet reading from the beginning, the characters are warm and engaging and with it being the second book in the series, the characters have become fun and familiar in the small close knit community.

Packed with charm and humour, ‘The Little Bakery On Rosemary Lane’ is a reflective, tender and warm-hearted reading that is perfect to curl up on a cold winters night.

You can buy The Little Bakery on Rosemary Lane from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

C.L Taylor Reveals New Book – The Fear

The Fear Exciting times for C.L. Taylor fans, as she has just revealed her new book called ‘The Fear’.

What the back cover says –

Sometimes your first love won’t let you go…

Lou Wandsworth is used to being headline news as, aged fourteen, she ran away to France with her 31-year-old teacher, Mike Hughes.
Now 32, Lou’s life is in tatters – and she resolves to return home to confront Mike for the damage he has caused. But she soon finds that Mike is unchanged, and is focussing his attention on 13-year-old Chloe Meadows.

Lou decides to take matters into her own hands. But Mike is a predator of the worst kind, and as she tries to bring him to justice, it’s clear that Lou could once again become changed, and is focussing his attention on 13-year-old Chloe Meadows. Determined to make sure that history doesn’t repeat itsee his prey.

The million copy ‘Sunday Times’ bestseller returns with a taut, compelling psychological thriller that will have you glued to the edge of your seat.

You can pre-order The Fear from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 22nd March 2018.

Beneath The Skin Book Tour – Extract

Beneath The Skin ‘On the book tour for Caroline England’s thrilling new debut,’Beneath The Skin’. Sit back and enjoy an extract from the gripping tale.

‘What was it, Mike? Was it the miscarriage? I thought we grieved together and put it behind us.’

He sat up, staring ahead at nothing in particular. He suddenly felt angry, really angry. He could feel the heat rise in his body, the colour flood his face. ‘You put it behind us, Olivia.

You wiped the slate clean and said “never mind”.’

He could feel her flinch, heard her intake of breath, but he knew he wouldn’t stop. ‘But you didn’t pause for one moment to consider how I felt. Everyone was there with their condolences and their sympathy. We’re so sorry, Olivia, how are you, Olivia, can I do anything, Olivia. He was my child too, my loss. It was me who wanted him, not you.’

‘That isn’t fair, Mike. You have no idea what it’s like to be pregnant, let alone give bloody birth. I was as sick as a dog, in and out of hospital with the vomiting. It was bloody awful but I did it for you. Because you had some stupid hang-up about wanting a son. How do you think the girls would feel if they knew that they weren’t good enough for you, just because of their gender? We live in the twenty-first century for God’s sake, women are equal and our girls are wonderful.’

He turned his head and stared at Olivia. He could feel a throb in his temple. ‘That’s crap and you know it. I wanted another child, Olivia. Another child. It might have been a girl, and that would have been great.’

‘But it was a boy, Mike, and you couldn’t conceal your delight, could you? It was written all over your face when they told us, your son and heir, just what you always wanted. Until that moment I didn’t realise how much I’d disappointed you with mere daughters.’

Part of Mike wanted to shout. Part of him wanted to take Olivia by the throat and shake the unfairness of her words out of her.

But instead he dropped his head, the cold despair he’d felt for months seeping through his body, dispersing the heat. ‘Don’t you dare say that. You’re not being fair. I adore my girls, you know I do.’

They sat for a moment and listened to the gentle thrum of the traffic from the far-off motorway.

‘Then why the total withdrawal and the silent treatment for so long?’ Olivia asked quietly.

He looked at her then. The harshness had gone from her face. Her pale eyes were sad, soft, concerned. He was hurting her. He was hurting himself. He understood this and yet he knew he had to push ahead through the numbness, to at least try to focus his mind and put his thoughts into words.

‘Because try as I did, I couldn’t put it him to rest, Olivia.

I’ve spent months asking myself why. Why did our little boy die? No one had a reason, he wasn’t Down’s or disabled. He was perfect, wasn’t he?’

Olivia nodded, her head propped on her knees, her fingers playing with the quilt and so he continued, trying to marshal his thoughts and frame them into words. ‘And because we got no answers from the hospital or the consultant, my mind has tormented me with its own.’

‘And they are?’ Olivia asked slowly, turning her head to look at him.

Mike was silent for a while, but he had come so far, he knew it had to be said, to exorcise those ugly pestering thoughts, if nothing else. The frequent picture he had in his mind of Olivia with a glass of wine in one hand and a cigarette in the other flashed before his eyes. She hadn’t touched a drop of alcohol when pregnant with the girls. Prawns and eggs and all manner of other foods had been off the menu too. ‘That you did something.

God, I don’t know. It sounds so stupid now, but I felt that by thought, or by word or by deed you did something. Something to cause the miscarriage.’

For a moment Olivia didn’t move, her unfathomable gaze fixed on his face. Seconds ticked by as he waited for an answer, a reaction. The moment he had voiced his innermost ugly thoughts, he knew how unworthy and pathetic they were.

She eventually stood from the bed and walked into the en-suite bathroom, closing the door quietly behind her. He watched and waited, numb, wretched and unbelievably tired. He had wanted to say it for so long that the desire to confess had become overwhelming. But now the words were out, he felt bereft and empty. As though someone had put their hand in his chest and pulled out his heart.

He’d started to drift off by the time Olivia returned to the bed.

‘You bastard,’ she said, quite clearly, as she turned off the lamp.

You can buy Beneath the Skin from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.