Skip to content

Amber Green Takes Manhattan Book Tour – Writers Tips

Rosie NixonOn the book tour for her second book called ‘Amber Green Takes Manhattan’, Editor-In-Chief at ‘Hello’ and author, Rosie Nixon shares her top tips for writing women’s fiction

I think it’s important to find a subject area you know something about. I didn’t particularly want to write about the magazine world because I live and work in this area right now and I value my career too highly to spill all the secrets, but during the course of my career I have learnt a lot about the fashion industry both as a journalist and as somebody who has a keen interest, so I wrote about an area I felt I knew enough about.

• You need to go out and do your research, meet and listen to people who can provide you with a genuine insight.

• If you’re still working out how to start your novel, the best advice I can give is to just go for it – it’s surprising how quickly the words start stacking up. Writing a novel seems like start a gargantuan task at the beginning, when you think ‘I’ve got 90 000 words ahead of me!’ But if you break it down and think, ‘If I write 1500 words a week then I will have a book in about a year’, it’s not so daunting.

Amber Green Takes Manhattan

• Try not to keep re-reading and going over the early parts of the book, just get those words down. When I reached the end of the two books I’ve written, I went back and re-wrote a lot of the beginning because the characters had developed and the plot had changed significantly along the way. There was actually a character in ‘Amber Green Takes Manhattan’ that I completely removed from the first draft because she didn’t seem essential to the story anymore.

• I don’t have a really firm plan of where I’m going in the beginning – it’s a movable feast and I like the story and the characters to take on the journey with them, as they develop. I roughly knew how the book might end but then a whole new strand came out during the writing process, the ending changed as a result and I significantly tweaked the beginning. That said, it’s a comforting feeling once you’ve got the first draft done and then it’s like a jigsaw puzzle making all the pieces fit together perfectly and checking that every character has a satisfying

You can buy Amber Green Takes Manhattan from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Stylist By Rosie Nixon

The Stylist‘The Stylist’ is Rosie Nixon’s debut novel and it’s a fast paced story packed with drama and glamour throughout.

Amber Green loves her job at Smith’s, the exclusive London boutique frequented by the rich, the famous and the stylish – and with stylist to the stars Mona Armstrong as a customer, there is never a dull moment. With the Golden Globes approaching and her diva-like behaviour resulting in yet another assistant walking out, Mona needs help, and she needs it fast. Before she has time to say Rodeo Drive, Amber finds herself agreeing to get on a plane to LA as she is expected to work with the increasingly volatile stylist and dress some of Hollywood’s hottest (and craziest) starlets. Awards season turns her life upside down as dazzling gowns, shoes and jewels are matched to a steady stream of celebrities who expect to be made red carpet ready. And as Amber starts to enjoy her new life rummaging through the ultimate dressing-up box, she finds herself in the limelight as she catches the attention of two very different suitors. How will she keep her head? Which man will she choose? And most importantly, what will everyone wear?

The story is seen through the narrative of Amber Green, a young woman who works in an exclusive boutique when she is snapped up by successful fashion stylist Mona Armstrong who is currently shooting her own reality show. Mona spots Amber’s talent when Amber accidentally styles the window display incorrectly and immediately calls upon Amber to help her with her busy schedule after her assistant lets her down. So Amber is flown to Los Angles and gets caught up in the glitz and bright lights of all the major awards and helps Mona get through her daily dramas.

‘The Stylist’ is fun from the very beginning. Amber is a likeable and relatable character, who follows her own dreams no matter the circumstances and against what her sensible mother advises. She is courageous with going to another country and seizing the opportunity to showcase her skills as well as deal with Mona’s meltdowns or dramatics. Mona is an interesting character, highly strung, she can’t get through her day without lashings of coffee and relies heavily on Amber. She’s quite self absorbed and rude but I found the scenes with her to be highly entertaining. Other accompanying characters in this enjoyable story include a greedy pig and a handsome camera man that made quite pleasurable reading.

This story is deliciously cheerful from the very beginning. The book is written by Rosie Nixon who is joint editor at ‘Hello’ magazine and her story gives an refreshing and compulsive insight into the world of celebrities and fashion and it also made me wonder were any of the stories or characters in the book based on actual events.

With a fun and interactive cover this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Filled with high jinks, drama and paparazzi galore, ‘The Stylist’ is stylish and glamorous story and an exciting beginning to a new series.

You can buy ‘The Stylist’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Hello, Goodbye And Everything In Between By Jennifer E. Smith

Hello, Goodbye And Everything in Between‘Hello, Goodbye And Everything In Between’ is the latest book by Jennifer E. Smith.

Of course Clare made a list. She creates lists for everything. That’s just how she is. But tonight is Clare and Aidan’s last night before college and this list will decide their future, together or apart. It takes them on a rollercoaster ride through their past – from the first hello in science class to the first conversation at a pizza joint, their first kiss at the beach and their first dance in a darkened gymnasium – all the way up to tonight. A night of laughs, fresh hurts, last-minute kisses and an inevitable goodbye. But will it be goodbye forever or goodbye for now?

As Young Adult authors go, Jennifer is up there with being one of my favourite authors, her lighthearted tales of young love provide captivating and entertaining reading, with handsome leads and strong willed females.

The story is about Clare and Aidan, a couple who are spending their last night together before they go their separate ways as they go off to university. As they spend their last few hours together, Clare compiles a list of all the places that meant something to them during their two year relationship and the pair of them have to decide if they will continue their relationship now that there will be so much distance between them. But, as they embark on their nostalgic journey down memory lane, the young couple are distracted by their friends escapades.

Aidan and Clare are a wonderful couple that make for sweet reading as they struggle with their emotions and decisions of whether they can survive long distance relationships. Clare is controlling in a good way, wanting her and Aidan’s last night together to be perfect. She makes a list of places that meant a lot to her and Aidan, from first meetings to first kisses, she thinks mainly with her head, trying to figure out the practicalities of her relationship, whereas Aidan wears his heart on his sleeve, he’s open about feelings from the very beginning. He’s passionate and witty and with this combination plus Clare’s sensible way of carrying on, their last few hours together make for emotional and bittersweet reading.

With Jennifer’s fresh style of writing, an eye-catching cover and witty dialogue, ”Hello, Goodbye And Everything In Between’ is an earnest and smart story about love surviving the distance and was impossible to put down.

You can buy Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Win A Copy Of Hello, Goodbye And Everything In Between By Jennifer E. Smith

Hello, Goodbye And Everything in BetweenOne of all time favourite Young Adult authors, Jennifer E. Smith is back with a brand new story called ‘Hello, Goodbye And Everything in Between’ and the generous people at Headline Publishing have given me two copies of the book, one for me and one for a lucky winner.

The story of ‘Hello, Goodbye And Everything in Between’ is –

One night. A life-changing decision. And a list…

Of course Clare made a list. She creates lists for everything. That’s just how she is.

But tonight is Clare and Aidan’s last night before college and this list will decide their future, together or apart.

It takes them on a rollercoaster ride through their past – from the first hello in science class to the first conversation at a pizza joint, their first kiss at the beach and their first dance in a darkened gymnasium – all the way up to tonight.

A night of laughs, fresh hurts, last-minute kisses and an inevitable goodbye.

But will it be goodbye forever or goodbye for now?

To be in with an chance of winning this book, simply reply below with your answer to the question by Monday 7th September and I shall pick a name at random.

What does Clare create?

Good luck everyone!