Skip to content

Love Songs For Sceptics By Christina Pishiris

Love Songs For Sceptics”Love Songs For Sceptics’ is the latest book by Christina Pishiris.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost twenty years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever. With Simon back in town, Zoë is determined to finally pluck up the courage to tell him how she feels, but as obstacles continue to get in her way – Jess, Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, Nick, an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin Zoe’s career, and family pressure around her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding – Zoe begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be. What if, instead, they’re forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite mastering the steps. Is Zoë right to be sceptical about romance, or is it time she changed her tune?

Filled with drama, humour and sass, this book was a delight from the start to finish. Christina is a new author for me and is definitely an author I will be looking into.

Seen from the narrative of Zoe, a sceptic towards love and relationships, her brother has given her the task of choosing the playlist for his wedding. Unfortunately Zoe hates love songs and everything they stand for, so this is a difficult task. But when Simon, her first crush reappears in her life, she finds herself questioning her beliefs about love. Riddled with humour, sarcasm and loads of drama, this book was a really enjoyable read.

I loved Zoe, she was a brilliant character. She’s witty, determined and a great strong lead in this hilarious story. I loved her outspokenness and the actions of her attitude usually delivered entertaining results. I particularly loved the titles of each chapter, which were the names of famous songs throughout the years.

A hilarious new voice in female fiction, ‘Love Songs For Sceptics’ is the perfect reading companion for cynics of love, with wit, warmth and plenty of drama, this book is perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane.

You can buy the ebook from Amazon and the paperback will be available from good bookshops from 30th April 2020.