Skip to content

A Body In The Bookshop by Helen Cox

A Body In The Bookshop‘A Body In The Bookshop’ is the second book in ‘The Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries’ by Helen Cox.

When DS Charlotte Banks is suspended from the police on suspicion of assaulting a suspect in the burglary of a local bookshop, librarian Kitt Harley and her friend Evie Bowes refuse to believe she is guilty. But why is she being framed? With Charlotte’s boss DI Malcolm Halloran unable to help, Evie decides to take matters into her own hands. Kitt takes little persuading to get involved too – after all, as well as Charlotte’s career to save, there are missing books to be found! From the tightknit community of York’s booksellers, to the most gossipy bus route in the country, Kitt and Evie leave no stone unturned to get at the truth behind the burglary. Then the discovery of a body raises the stakes even higher. For Evie, and now Kitt, this case is as personal as it gets. Can they catch the murderer in time to turn a bleak midwinter into something merry and bright?

Kitt and Evie are back with another dramatic story as the investigative duo look into the burglary of a local bookshop. With their inquisitive nature and knowledge of books, the pair delve into the case of murder and burglary whilst putting their lives in danger for a second time.

I really enjoy the Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mystery books, they’re not terribly gruesome like other books and they are the type of story that the reader can just sink into. They’re filled with charm and warmth, set in a small bustling village against the backdrop of books, so it’s hard not to be carried away by the story.

Kitt and her best friend Evie are two great characters, they’re a bit like the Cagney and Lacey of the book world, unable to stop at something unless they’ve solved. Their friendship and banter with each other makes for lighthearted and entertaining reading. Kitt’s boyfriend DI Halloran adds an injection of charisma into the story as he battles with being professional with his job as well as helping Kitt with her own unofficial investigation.

A captivating story from start to finish, ‘A Body in the Bookshop’ is a fantastic follow up book to the debut in the series. Atmospheric and suspenseful, this murder mystery book is a must for Agatha Christie fans.

You can buy ‘A Body In The Bookshop’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Murder By The Minster By Helen Cox

Murder By The Minster‘Murder By The Minster’ is the latest book by Helen Cox.

It’s a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie’s ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead – with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart – and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone – let alone Owen, who she adored. Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there’s only one thing to do: she’s going to investigate Owen’s murder herself. She’s read hundreds of mystery novels – how hard can it be?
With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library’s eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work. She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she’d ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven’t finished killing yet…

I spent my Sunday curled up with this book and I couldn’t put it down until I reached the final page. The first book in the new Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mystery series is a fantastic introduction to a new mystery series and one that I wholeheartedly hope there will be more books to come.

The story is seen solely through the narrative of librarian Kitt Hartley, who finds herself using her own investigative skills to solve a murder of her best friend’s Evie’s ex boyfriend. As Evie finds herself the prime suspect in the murder, Kitt is determined to solve the crime using her own wit and the skills she has learned from her love of Agatha Christie novels. But as Kitt delves deeper into the crime and the bodies pile up much to the disgruntlement of the Yorkshire police, particularly a handsome detective called Halloran.

I loved the characters in this book, particularly Kitt and her librarian assistant Grace as the pair piece together the evidence and clues they have gathered along the way. They are a comical duo who make for entertaining reading with their banter. Throughout the story, there are many suspicious characters that leave you wondering if they are the murderers.

Gripping from the first page, this cleverly written book is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Miss Marple. Set in a sleepy village with a pair of witty and cunning librarians at the centre of the drama, ‘Murder By The Minster’ is an exciting new series that is riddled with mystery and drama throughout.

You can buy ‘Murder By The Minster’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.