Skip to content

Win A Copy Of A Winter Love Song By Rita Bradshaw

A Winter Love Song‘For fans of Historical Fiction, I’ve the perfect giveaway with a chance to win Rita Bradshaw’s, new book ‘A Winter Love Song’.

What the back cover says –

Bonnie Lindsay is born into a travelling fair community in the north-east in 1918, and when her mother dies just months later, Bonnie’s beloved father becomes everything to her. Then at the tender age of ten years old, disaster strikes. Heartbroken, Bonnie’s left at the mercy of her embittered grandmother and her lecherous step-grandfather.

Five years later, the events of one terrible night cause Bonnie to flee to London where she starts to earn her living as a singer. She changes her name and cuts all links with the past.

Time passes. Bonnie falls in love, but just when she dares to hope for a rosy future, WW2 is declared. She does her bit for the war effort, singing for the troops and travelling to Burma to boost morale, but heartache and pain are just around the corner, and she begins to ask herself if she will ever find happiness again?

To be the lucky winner of this book, simply answer the question by leaving your answer in the comment box below by Wednesday 22nd November.

Where does Bonnie travel to boost morale?

Good luck!

Jane Green Releases New Book – Saving Grace

Saving GraceAs a fan of Jane Green, I’m delighted to see that she is releasing a new book in September called ‘Saving Grace’

The story of ‘Saving Grace’ is –

Grace Chapman has the perfect life, living comfortably with her husband, bestselling author Ted, in a picture-perfect farmhouse on the Hudson River in New York State.

Then Ted advertises for a new assistant, and Beth walks into their lives. Organized, passionate and eager to learn, Beth quickly makes herself indispensable to Ted and his family. But Grace soon begins to feel side-lined in her home – and her marriage – by this ambitious younger woman.

Is Grace just paranoid, as her husband tells her, or is there more to Beth than first thought?

Loving the sound of this book particularly the dark element to it.

You can pre-order Saving Grace from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 25th September 2014.

The Memory Box By Sarah Webb

The Memory Box‘The Memory Box’ is the latest book by Irish author, Sarah Webb.

Pandora Schuster is about to turn thirty but that’s the least of her troubles. In Dublin she has just been tested for a hereditary family disease and is expecting the worst, is desperate for her ex-boyfriend and father of nine year old Iris to be part of her daughter’s life. There are two major problems: Olivier Huppert lives in Paris and he has no idea that Iris even exists. So when Pandora secretly tries to find Olivier during her Parisian birthday weekend, it all ends in disaster. As the agonising weeks until her test results crawl by, Pandora manages to find some distraction with her kind and sensible boyfriend Declan, and with her fellow Shoestring Club members as they time-share a fabulous new designer dress. Yet matters of the heart are not easily forgotten and Pandora is determined for Iris to know the truth about her handsome, charismatic father. So she creates a memory box filled with photos, letters, mementos and of the magical time she spent with Olivier in Paris.

I have been a fan of Sarah Webb’s books for years, I love her sweet, heartwarming stories of family, love and mayhem that will have you chuckling throughout and I also love that she was one the first authors to be interviewed on Handwritten Girl.

In her usual trade mark style, Sarah has created another whimsical and poignant story that had me gripped from the first page. Seem through the eyes of Pandora, the lead character of the book, we follow her as she battles with the difficult decision and time when she has to face the possibility that she may have the BRCA1 gene and if she’s does this increases her chances of getting breast or ovarian cancer.

Pandora is fiercely independent so she doesn’t tell anyone about her hidden turmoil, even though she is part of a close knit family, she can’t bear to tell them until the results are revealed and all her plans are in working order, which involves Pandora going off to Paris to find the father of her only daughter Iris.

Along with the main story of a Pandora reliving her Parisian life, her busy schedule with her vintage second hand shop sweetly named ‘The Shoestring Club’, her occasionally volatile relationships with her boyfriends ex wife and bratty daughter and outspoken sister, there is never a dull moment in the young woman’s life. There is another lovely sub story that would certainly warm the cockles of your heart on a cold winters day.

Pandora is introduced to Alex, a newcomer to ‘The Shoestring Club’, who is scared to leave the house due to the panic attacks that were brought on by the sudden death of daughter. With Pandora, her sister Julia and their friends, they provide a shoulder for Alex to cry on when the going gets tough.

Having previously read a book that I didn’t particularly enjoy, ‘The Memory Box’ was the perfect book to coax me back into my regular reading pattern. A sentimental but wonderfully realistic story that raises the scary issue of the BRAC1 gene and it’s impact on lives. ‘The Memory Box’ is filled with delicious characters, handsome French men, witty and heartwarming dialogue and sees the welcome return of one of my favourite Irish authors.

You can buy The Memory Box fron Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops.

Lulu Taylor’s New Book – The Winter Folly

The Winter FollyFans of Lulu Taylor will be delighted to hear that she will be returning to our bookshelves in 2014, with her latest book ‘The Winter Folly’.

The story of ‘The Winter Folly’ is –

In this house there are many secrets… It is 1960 and young Alexandra Crewe is obedient enough to marry the man her father has selected for her, but both she and her husband Laurence quickly realise that their marriage is a disaster. When real love comes to her, plucking her out of her old life and into a wonderful new existence, she is powerless to resist. Her home is now a beautiful Dorset castle, but there has been a price to pay and she fears that her punishment will one day be due. When tragedy strikes, it seems that it has come, and there is only one way she can atone for her sins… In the present day, Delilah Young is the second wife of John Stirling and the new chatelaine of Fort Stirling. The house is a sad one and Delilah hopes to fill it with life and happiness. But when she attempts to heal the wounds in John’s life, it seems that the forces of the past might be too strong for her. Why does John have such a hatred for the old folly on the hill, and what happened to his mother when she vanished from his life? As she searches for the truth, Delilah realises that perhaps some secrets are better left buried . . .

As a fan of Lulu’s, I am looking forward to ‘The Winter Folly’ which does sound a bit different and darker to her previous books which were all set against the glamour and secrecy of high society. Definitely one to look out for.

You can pre-order The Winter Folly from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 2nd January 2014.