Skip to content

Surprise Me By Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me‘Surprise Me’ is the latest book by Sophie Kinsella.

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other’s sentences. They have a happy marriage and believe they know everything there is to know about each other. Until it’s casually mentioned to them that they could be together for another sixty-eight years… and panic sets in. They quickly decide to create little surprises for each other, to keep their relationship fresh and fun. But in their pursuit of Project Surprise Me – anything from unexpected gifts to restaurant dates to photo shoots – mishaps arise with disastrous and comical results. Gradually, the surprises turn to shocking discoveries. And when a scandal from the past is uncovered, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all…

For fans of Sophie Kinsella, you’re in for a treat with her latest book, ‘Surprise Me’, a heart-warming and witty story about family and relationships.

In this story, we meet Sylvia and Dan, a happy couple who are content with each other and their twin daughters, until they discover that they are going to be together for 68 years. Delighted that they are both going to be each other’s happy ever after, they are both terrified that they will grow to hate each other. So, Sylvia comes up with a genius idea to inject some spontaneity into their relationship by surprising each other. But in the true style of Sophie’s writing, nothing is ever simple and there are plenty of unexpected surprises along the way, which ends up challenging the couple’s commitment.

I loved this story. From the very beginning, it was light-hearted and engaging and the characters really made for fun reading. Sylvia is an interesting character, she’s happy in her relationship, but once she finds out about how long their marriage will last, she finds herself re-evaluating her life. Once a confident and happy woman, she begins to find flaws in her life and struggles to properly communicate with Dan, which causes issues for the couple. What I really enjoyed about the story, is that it reflected on real relationships issues, particularly long-term when relationships become stale and mundane.

The story is filled with many vibrant and interesting characters, particularly Sylvia’s boss, an old fashioned woman who struggles to adapt to life with gadgets and social media. The story flows at a lovely pace, with witty narrative and drama along the way that made for really enjoyable reading.

With a vibrant cover and just the right amount of sentimentally and humour, ‘Surprise Me’ is a deliciously written story about new beginnings and discovery

You can pre-order Surprise Me from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 8th February 2018.

Faking Friends By Jane Fallon

Faking Friends‘Faking Friends’ is Jane Fallon’s latest book.

Amy thought she knew who Melissa was – then again, Amy also thought she was on the verge of the wedding of her dreams to her long-distance fiancé.When her career suddenly begins to unravel, Amy pays a surprise trip home to London. Her boyfriend Jack is out, but it looks like another woman has been making herself at home. And that Other Woman is Melissa. Amy has lost her job, her fiancé, her best friend and her home in one disastrous weekend – but instead of falling apart she’s determined to get her own back.Piecing her life back together won’t be half as fun as dismantling theirs, after all.

In this book, we meet Amy, a successful actress in New York, whose career suddenly comes to an end and she finds herself returning to London with her tail between her legs. She’s looking forward to seeing her fiancé Jack as they have spent so much time apart with her busy career but she gets the shock of her life when she discovers that whilst she’s been away, her best friend Mel has moved in on her life with her fiancé.

Amy is now in limbo, no job and no fiancé, she’s determined to move on but isn’t going to let onto either of them that she knows about their affair, instead she decides to play games with them instead and this really makes for entertaining reading.

Amy is a great character, she’s strong and driven and refuses to go down without a fight, gradually moving her life into a small grotty flat that she now calls home. But with the help of her friend Kat, a woman she wasn’t as close to as she was to Mel, Amy begins to create a new life for herself and even meets a handsome new man.

In Jane’s witty style of writing, the story is also seen through the narrative of Mel and this for me makes for delicious reading. Mel, is self absorbed, opinionated and also self entitled. She rarely sees herself as doing anything wrong and blames others for her own failures. She’s jealous of Amy’s life, as she always wanted to be the actress and we see that from the flashbacks that are scattered throughout the story.

Deliciously funny and captivating from the start, ‘Faking Friends’ is a cleverly written tale about the complexities of female relationships and starting over. I loved it.

You can pre-order Faking Friends from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 11th January 2018.

Jane Corry Reveals New Book – The Dead Ex

The Dead ExJane Corry has revealed the name of her exciting new book for 2018 called ‘The Dead Ex’.

What the back cover says –

‘I wish he’d just DIE.’

He said in sickness and in health. But after Vicki was attacked at work and left suffering with epilepsy, her husband Daniel left her for his mistress.

So when Vicki gets a call one day to say that he’s gone missing, her first thought is ‘good riddance’. But then the police find evidence suggesting that Daniel is dead. And they think Vicki had something to do with it.

What really happened on the night of Daniel’s disappearance?
And how can Vicki prove her innocence, when she’s not even sure of it herself?

I’ve just recently read Jane’s last book called ‘Blood Sisters’, which was a great thriller so I’m looking forward to ‘The Dead Ex’.

You can pre-order The Dead Ex from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 2nd August 2018.

Jenny Sparrow Knows The Future By Melissa Pimental

Jenny Sparrow Knows The Future‘Jenny Sparrow Knows The Future’ is the latest book by Melissa Pimental.

According to the plan Jenny made at thirteen, it’s time for her to get married. But when her boyfriend proposes a break instead of a wedding, a girls’ weekend in Vegas is the only solution . . . until she wakes up in a stranger’s bed, and discovers that this is the year she gets married – to the wrong man. Jenny wants a quick divorce and her old boyfriend back. But what if her accidental husband has other ideas?

I’ve become quite a fan of Mellissa Pimentel, after reading her previous book, ‘The One That Got Away’. Her writing is sharp and witty and touches on real life issues such as the pressure that women have to deal with such as marriage and children.

In this story, we meet Jenny, who’s life is pretty much dictated by a list, she and her best friend Isla made when they were teenagers. In this list, they were intending to achieve goals by certain times in their lives, although, Isla gave up on the list and achieved her one item on the list of becoming a surgeon, Jenny has lived her life around it. And when Christopher, her long term boyfriend doesn’t propose on her 31st birthday, Jenny feels immense pressure and that time is running out. So, she seizes Isla’s offer of a weekend in Las Vegas as an distraction. It’s there that we meet Jackson Gaines, a handsome and warm character who Jenny marries whilst drunk and has no idea until Jackson turns up in London reminding her of that ill fated night and promises that if she spends the week with him, that he will grant her a divorce.

I loved this book and consumed it in a day, with its bright cover, the book was a fun distraction from start to finish.

Jenny is an interesting character, her childhood was far from normal and she seems to rely on the list to help her get through her life. She’s fun but settled in her relationship but craves more and when Christopher doesn’t propose, she fears for the worst.

I absolutely loved her adventure in Las Vegas and found her relationship with her best friend Isla, truly entertaining and fun. Isla was a great character, she’s rude, outspoken and brings a brash side to the soft tale. I found myself sniggering away through the story.

Like Jenny, it was hard not to fall for Jackson, with his handsome looks and old fashioned Texan charm, he brought a touch of charisma to the story.

If you loved ‘The Hangover’ and were fans of ‘Bridesmaids’, then this boisterous tale is just for you. Packed with crude humour, fantastic friends and plenty of one-liners, ‘Jenny Sparrow Knows The Future’ is a witty and fast paced story about the pressures of life, dating and sometimes it’s best not to always follow a list. Perfect for fans of Linsey Kelk.

You can buy Jenny Sparrow Knows the Future from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Do Not Become Alarmed By Maile Meloy

Do Not Become Alarmed‘Do Not Become Alarmed’ is the latest book by Maile Meloy.

When Liv and Nora decide to take their husbands and children on a holiday cruise, everyone is thrilled. The ship’s comforts and possibilities seem infinite. But when they all go ashore in beautiful Central America, a series of minor mishaps lead the families further from the ship’s safety. One minute the children are there, and the next they’re gone. What follows is a heart-racing story told from the perspectives of the adults and the children, as the distraught parents – now turning on one another and blaming themselves – try to recover their children and their shattered lives.

In my cold and tired state, I sat up late so I could finish this book, I couldn’t put the book down until I reached its conclusion and if the children were returned safely to their parents.

When friends Liv and Nora go away on a cruise with their husbands and children, they think it will be perfect distraction from real life. Away at sea with an array of activities to keep everyone entertained, nothing could go wrong until the mothers and the children step off the ship and suddenly the children are gone, with the parents distraught and consumed with fear.

The story is cleverly written from both the narrative of the children and the their parents as they race against time to become reunited, but it’s not a simple reconciliation, as there are many hurdles along the way.

The inclusion of both perspectives is very interesting, with the children there is the fear of never being found as well as naivety, that they will be found. But, as the story progresses, the children are exposed to horrific situations and for some of them, rids them of their innocence and makes them stronger. With the much younger children, there is a sweet element, that adds a gentle touch of humour to the gripping tale, as they question and wonder about everything much to the annoyance of their elders.

Elsewhere the parents have to deal with the guilt of letting their children down and with each passing second, their fears become real as police delve further into the investigation. Their emotions race between fear, frustration and guilt at having their backs on them.

The story progresses at a quick speed with short and snappy chapters packed with many twists and dramas along the way. Filled with bad guys, bunnies and everyone wanting to do the right thing, ‘Do Not Become Alarmed’ is a fast paced drama about every parents nightmare.

You can pre-order Do Not Become Alarmed from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 7th July 2017.