Skip to content

The House On The Edge Of The Cliff By Carol Drinkwater

The House On The Edge Of The Cliff ‘The House On The Edge Of The Cliff’ is the latest book by Carol Drinkwater.

Grace first came to France a lifetime ago. Young and full of dreams of adventure, she met two very different men. She fell under the spell of one. The other fell under hers. Until one summer night shattered everything. Now, Grace is living an idyllic life with her husband, sheltered from the world in a magnificent Provençal villa, perched atop a windswept cliff. Every day she looks out over the sea – the only witness to that fateful night years ago. Until a stranger arrives at the house. A stranger who knows everything, and won’t leave until he gets what he wants.

This is the first book that I’ve read by Carol and I must say that I really enjoyed it. The story is seen through the narrative of Grace and flows back and forth in past and present tense. Set in France, Grace has a content life with her husband, her primary concern as he prepares for an operation, until one day an old face from her past reappears and brings old ghosts back to life.

The past aspects of the story are the background of Grace’s life as she moves to France hoping to become a world famous actress. Alone in the country, she finds help from kind stranger, Peter and together they travel hoping to escape the riots. These narratives give an insight into Grace and the kind of character she is. She’s a kind and adventurous soul but as the story progresses, we see her develop through the years into the older woman that she’s become. As the story develops, it gets darker and grittier which is really interesting reading. The present moments were quite thrilling in parts and you couldn’t help but feel an empathy towards her.

A compelling story of secrets and suspense and riddled with drama throughout, set against a picturesque background, ‘The House on the Cliff Top Edge’ is a romantic story that really pulls the reader in with its mystery and charm.

You can buy ‘The House On The Edge Of The Cliff’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Some Kind Of Wonderful By Giovanna Fletcher

Some Kind of Wonderful‘Some Kind Of Wonderful’ is the latest book by Giovanna Fletcher.

Lizzy and Ian have been a couple since their first day at university. Now, after celebrating a decade together, everyone thinks they’re about to get engaged. A romantic escape to Dubai is the perfect moment, but instead of the proposal Lizzy hopes for, Ian reveals he’s not sure he even wants her anymore. Lizzy is heartbroken. But through the tears, she realises this is her chance to seize the opportunities she missed as Ian’s other half. But what does she want? How much of her is really Lizzy, and how much was Ian’s influence? Determined to discover who she is at heart, Lizzy sets out to rediscover the girl she was before – and in the meantime, have a little fun.

Giovanna Fletcher has returned to our bookshelves with a book that will have you laughing and crying in quick succession.

When Izzy and Ian go on holiday, Izzy thinks it’s only to be expected for him to propose to her after ten years together. Wrong. Instead, he breaks up with her and she ends moving back to her family home, much to the upset of her pregnant sister, who’s wedding is coming up and Michelle is convinced that Izzy is determined to ruin her big day.

As Izzy reflects on her life, now as a single woman, she thinks of all the changes and sacrifices she made for the relationship and is determined to live her life for herself and not for others. This involves wearing throngs, going out with friends and meeting new people and joining a choir.

This book is a journey of self discovery and for me, was quite the thinker as we all change in relationships. I loved how Izzy rebelled now she was single and had only to answer for herself, as well as figure what she really wanted from life, as the story progressed, she blossomed into a strong and independent woman.

The story is tender and heartfelt and you can feel the love in the writing. I loved Izzy, she was a fun and vibrant character with a big heart and this reflects through the hilarious situations that she gets herself in, whether it’s with outspoken sister or fun best friend, Connie.

Deliciously fun and witty, ‘Some Kind Of Wonderful’ is a charming story of new beginnings and self discovery.

You can buy Some Kind of Wonderful from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Tell Me A Secret By Jane Fallon

Tell Me A Secret‘Tell Me A Secret’ is the latest book by Jane Fallon.

Best friends Holly and Roz tell each other everything. Until Holly gets a surprise shot at her dream job. Why isn’t Roz popping the champagne? Now Holly feels like she’s got a target on her back. Perhaps it was a mistake to tell Roz all her secrets. It takes two to tango. But it only takes one to start a war.

I’m a huge fan of Jane Fallon and was fortunate to have received a proof of her new book to enjoy over the Christmas holidays. In her latest book, we meet colleagues Holly and Roz who both work in television. Holly is delighted with her new promotion and opportunity at work and thought Roz felt the same, but when things start to happen putting Holly’s job in jeopardy, Holly begins to question Roz’s loyalty.

For years, I’ve enjoyed Jane’s writing and I gobbled this book up just like her previous books as it made compulsive reading. There was one big difference, I noticed about this book and that it was seen from a single narrative.

This was an interesting slant for me, as a lot of her previous books included multiple perspectives. Holly is an interesting character, she’s excited about her promotion and sinking her teeth into the new job, but with every chance she has to prove herself, she finds herself having to explain an awkward situation or email that she had nothing to do with. As more situations arise, she begins to wonder about her colleagues and has one of them got it in for her, particularly Roz. Her so called work best friend, who’s always the life and soul of the party. As time passes, with the help of her bubbly and inquisitive friend Dee, Holly discovers that Roz isn’t quite the person she is lead to believe.

The story is set against the backdrop of script writing a television series and gives the reader an insight into Jane’s job before she became a full time author.

I really enjoyed this book, the characters are great and really entertaining, particularly Roz and Dee, as they both injected a little bit of humour and flamboyance to the story. With so many interesting characters throughout the story, I did find myself wondering throughout the story, if they were suspects. Cleverly written and riddled with drama and wit, ‘Tell Me A Secret’ is a deliciously, compulsive story about female friendships and dramas in the workplace.

You can buy Tell Me A Secret from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Jane Fallon Reveals New Book Called Tell Me A Secret

Tell Me A SecretWonderful news as Jane Fallon reveals her book for 2019, called ‘Tell Me A Secret’.

What the back cover says –

Best friends Holly and Roz tell each other everything.
Until Holly gets a surprise shot at her dream job.
Why isn’t Roz popping the champagne?

Now Holly feels like she’s got a target on her back.
Perhaps it was a mistake to tell Roz all her secrets.

It takes two to tango. But it only takes one to start a war…

This is definitely one book that is going to the top of my TBR pile!

You can pre-order Tell Me A Secret from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 10th January 2019.

The Anniversary By Hilary Boyd

'The Anniversary‘The Anniversary’ is the latest book by Hilary Boyd.

Stella once thought that if she never saw Jack again, it would be too soon. But life has other plans for her and her stubborn, handsome ex-husband. Looking after their daughter in a time of need, Stella finds herself unwillingly reunited with the man she shared the best years of her life with – followed by the worst. Where tragedy once tore them apart, now Stella and Jack are being drawn back together. But each of them has a new partner and a new life. Should they fight temptation? Should the past remain the past? Or are some loves simply meant to be?

‘The Anniversary’ is a sweet and tender about love and growing old. Jack and Stella thought their love was forever, until a death of their child drove them apart. Now, years later their only daughter is expecting their grandchild and they are spending time together for the first time in years.

I have read a few of Hilary’s books and I’ve come to enjoy her warm-hearted stories of love and friendships that come together neatly together in the end and ‘The Anniversary’ is no different.

The story is seen through the narrative of both characters and flows back and forth in past and present sequences, setting the scenes for the reader as they fall in and out of love and the dramatic events unfurl before them.

Both characters are interesting people, Stella is a kind and considerate woman who never got over the loss of her little boy, she’s always felt responsible for his death and found she was unable to move on, being constantly reminded off him. Like Stella, Jack also felt responsible for Johnny’s death but he wanted to carry on and make the most of life, much to Stella’s dismay.

Now, years later they have both moved on and are in new relationships, but they find old feelings returning much to their surprise and they begin to tentatively form a friendship and speak openly about their past and their future, particularly with their grandchild approaching.

This is a very enjoyable story, that is poignant and tender in parts, a story of loss that really tugs at the heartstrings. ‘The Anniversary’ is a lovely story to curl up with, with sweet character and the odd funny moment throughout, this book is perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan.

You can pre-order The Anniversary from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 20th September 2018.