Skip to content

Stand By Me Book Tour – Extract

Stand By MeOn today’s book tour, sit back and enjoy an extract from chapter four of S.D Robertson’s latest heartbreaking book called ‘Stand By Me’.

‘Next door’s on fire,’ she said. ‘I got Elliot out, but he’s in a state. There’s flames and smoke and I don’t know what to do. Please get help.’

As she said this, in one long garbled breath, the man dashed to the phone to call the fire brigade.

His wide-eyed wife started asking Lisa questions, but it was too much for her to handle. Her legs gave way and she crumbled on to the doorstep, erupting into a coughing fit.

Kneeling down and helping her into a sitting position against the door, the woman said: ‘You poor thing. You’re shattered. Come on, we need to get you inside.’

‘No,’ Lisa panted, trying but failing to stand up again. ‘First Elliot.’

In desperation, she pointed at her friend’s body slumped in the garden; the woman, noticing him for the first time, held her hand up to her mouth and gasped.

‘Don’t panic. I think . . . he’s just drunk,’ Lisa said, hoping she was right. And then, without warning, the tears started to flow. ‘I couldn’t wake him up,’ she sobbed. ‘I was so scared, I—’

‘The fire brigade’s on the way,’ the husband said. ‘Any idea how it started?’

‘I’m not sure,’ Lisa replied. ‘I just turned up, saw all the smoke and ran in there to get my friend out.’ She remembered seeing the kitchen bin well ablaze and had a bad feeling it might have been something to do with El smoking and leaving a fag butt in there, but the last thing she wanted to do was point the finger of blame.

All of a sudden, Lisa felt dizzy and nauseous. ‘I think I’m going to . . .’

Everything went black.

You can buy Stand By Me from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

If you would like to me hear my thoughts on ‘Stand By Me’, then read my review.

Stand By Me By S.D. Robertson

Stand By Me‘Stand By Me’ is the latest book by S.D Robertson.

Lisa and Elliot have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful. Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again. With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas.

Lisa’s life is falling apart just as her best friend Elliot suddenly reappears in her life. Her husband has lost his job and is relying on drink, her children are drifting apart and money is tight as she becomes the sole bread provider. When things suddenly the worst that they can get, Elliott turns up on her doorstep after moving to Australia almost twenty years ago. Now a successful businessman, he wants to spend some time with the woman, who was his best friend during school and was always there to protect him when the bullies were about.

Lisa is a strong woman who cares a lot for the people she is close to and that’s obvious from the start when we see the past parts throughout the story as we see how Lisa and Elliott’s friendship came about and how they were both there for each other during the difficult times.

The story flashes between past and present and is not only seen through Lisa and Elliott’s narrative but also the rest of Lisa’s family who are all faced with their own problems.

If you’ve read any of S.D.’s books before then you will be aware that his books are quite heart wrenching and that nothing is as it seems. Tear jerking from the first page, ‘Stand By Me’ is a captivating story about friendship and hope, that will reader in floods of tears!

You can pre-order Stand By Me from Amazon and will be available from good bookshops from 11th January 2018.

S.D Robertson Reveals New Book – Stand By Me

Stand By MeS.D Robertson has revealed the name of his third book called ‘Stand By Me’.

What the back cover says –

Lisa and Elliot have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful.

Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again.

With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas…

A heartwarming story perfect for fans of Keith Stewart and Jojo Moyes, that will leave you with a tear in your eye but hope in your heart.

You can pre-order Stand By Me from Amazon and will be available from good bookshops from 11th January 2018.

If Ever I Fall Book Tour – Extract

If Ever I FallToday, I’m hosting the book tour for S.D Robertson’s, emotional new book called ‘If Ever I Fall’ and I’ve got an extract for you lucky people to enjoy.

Dan stood at the lounge window of his crappy flat and watched the snow overwhelm the communal garden. It was coming down thick and fast: a torrent of fat flakes racing each other to the ground.

Getting into the office tomorrow – deadline day, of course – would be a nightmare, although better from here in the suburbs than it would have been from out at the house. Then, once he got to work, he’d have to squeeze in all those weather-related stories: the sledging snaps; the inevitable school closures; the traffic chaos.

Perfect weather for Valentine’s Day. How romantic for all those lovebirds, he thought, envious of their happiness. There was a time, long ago, when he and Maria used to be like that: a happy young couple out on a date to celebrate Valentine’s. He could even remember the two of them walking home through falling snow one year, early on in their relationship, arm in arm and stuffed with expensive restaurant food.

Back then, they had been utterly content in each other’s company. It made Dan’s head hurt to think how great they used to be together. It gave him hope that they could still fix things, while also frustrating the hell out of him that they’d drifted so far apart. Once upon a time people used to call them the perfect couple. With hindsight, Dan could see why: they’d had that magic combination of being in love as well as best friends. They’d enjoyed a lot of the same books, films, pubs, clubs and restaurants. They’d largely liked and disliked the same people – and realised they didn’t need or want a big social group, since they were both happiest when it was just the two of them. And when their views had differed, such as on the topic of religion, each had respected the other’s opinion rather than trying to change it.

That was a million miles away from where they’d ended up. And whether it was snowing or not, Dan knew for sure that neither of them would ever again view Valentine’s Day the way they once had.

February the fourteenth was Sam’s birthday. Everything else paled into insignificance. She should have been turning sixteen. They should have been celebrating her milestone as a family. Instead, she was gone.

Absent again on her special day. Frozen in time. Fourteen forever, like the date.

Dan walked over to the coffee table and poured himself another drink from the open bottle of vodka. He’d not even bothered to replace the lid. What was the point? He’d be drinking it all tonight. And whatever else it took.

The pain was always there. It never left him. But days like this tore at the wound; they poked and prodded at it, allowing no respite.

He’d barely done a thing at work. Even Maurice hadn’t been able to keep up with all his cigarette breaks. Several people had asked if he was all right, sensing that something was wrong; he’d said he was fine, which couldn’t have been further from the truth. And then at 2 p.m., unable to bear it any more, he’d left for a fictional hospital appointment.

It was 6.30 p.m. now. He’d been drinking for four hours: first in a quiet corner of a local pub and then, once the after-work crowd arrived, he’d returned here. Not home. He couldn’t bring himself to call it that. He still held out hope that he’d be able to reconcile with Maria and move back to his real home. He had to believe that was possible for the sake of his own sanity.

If only Maria was on the same page. Last week she’d flown off the handle because he’d not found time to call in and fix a leaking tap in the downstairs bathroom.

You can buy If Ever I Fall from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Cover Reveal – If Ever I Fall By S.D Robertson

If Ever I Fall Having only recovered from reading S.D Robertson’s debut novel ‘Time To Say Goodbye’, it’s time to pack up your tissues as he’s back with another book guaranteed to break your heart called ‘If Ever I Fall’.

The story of ‘If Ever I Fall’ is –

Dan’s life has fallen apart at the seams. He’s lost his house, his job, and now he’s going to lose his family too. All he’s ever wanted is to keep them together, but is everything beyond repair?

Maria is drowning in grief. She spends her days writing letters that will never be answered. Nights are spent trying to hold terrible memories at bay, to escape the pain that threatens to engulf her.

Jack wakes up confused and alone. He doesn’t know who he is, how he got there, or why he finds himself on a deserted clifftop, but will piecing together the past leave him a broken man?

In the face of real tragedy, can these three people find a way to reconcile their past with a new future? And is love enough to carry them through?

Sounds like another heartbreaking tale from S.D Robertson to look forward to reading.

You can pre-order If Ever I Fall from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 9th February 2017.