Skip to content

The Secret Seaside Escape By Heidi Swain

The Secret Seaside Escape ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’ is the latest book by Heidi Swain.

Tess Tyler needs a break. Weighed down by her high-pressure job and her demanding father, she’s left little time to take care of herself. But after a shocking discovery sends her spiralling, she flees to Wynmouth, the seaside town she fell in love with as a child, to escape it all. With its sandy beaches, stunning rock pools and welcoming community, Tess feels like she can finally breathe again. And as she grows ever closer to local barman Sam, she dares to dream that she might never return to her real life. But when a familiar face returns to town, Tess realises that there are secrets in Wynmouth too, and that her own past may be about to catch up with her.

I’ve only read two books by Heidi and both books were exactly what I needed. Heartwarming with lovely characters against the backdrop of the seaside.

Tess decides to return to her childhood holiday retreat when life in her busy marketing role becomes too much. Recovering from her mother’s death, she needs a change of scenery and goes to the sweetly named Crow’s Nest Cottage in Wynmouth. It’s whilst she’s there that she begins to relax and enjoy life whilst making new friends and becoming part of the bustling village.

This book is the perfect book to curl up with. Tess is a lovely, kind relatable character, she’s warm and immediately fits into the village with her enthusiasm and charm wanting to share her knowledge and skills with the locals to make their businesses thrive. It’s whilst she’s away on this retreat is that she makes some discoveries about herself and her family. Tess isn’t the only lovely character in the story, there’s also Sam, Joe and Sophie, who all add their own charm and warmth to the seaside story.

Heidi has written a gorgeous heartwarming and fun love story about family secrets and new beginnings against sandy beaches, with such vivid imagery that you can almost feel the sand between your toes. The perfect escapism story to enjoy right now.

You can buy ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Paige Toon Reveals New Book – The Minute I Saw You

'The Minute I Saw YouWonderful news if you’re a Paige Toon fan as she’s revealed her new book for 2020 called ‘The Minute I Saw You’.

What the back cover says –

Some people believe that it’s possible to fall in love simply by gazing into another person’s eyes, but Hannah, who spends her working life staring into the eyes of strangers, has never felt anything out of the ordinary for any of her clients. Then she meets Sonny, and a spark ignites between them that’s hard to ignore and impossible to forget.

Weeks later, they cross paths again, but Sonny’s whole demeanour has changed. Gone is the sexy, laidback, confident man that Hannah was so attracted to, and in his place is someone who can barely make eye contact at all.

It soon transpires that Sonny is at a crossroads. He’s committed to making serious life changes, but these changes can’t and won’t include romance.

Hannah, who is only temporarily housesitting her uncle’s cottage, has her own reasons for wanting to keep their budding friendship platonic. But as summer hots up and the chemistry between them sizzles, Hannah and Sonny discover that there’s more to each of them than meets the eye…

With a vibrant cover and synposis,’The Minute I Saw You’ sounds like a heartbreaker!

You can pre-order ‘The Minute I Saw You’ from Amazon and will be available from good bookshops from 14th May 2020.

Love Songs For Sceptics By Christina Pishiris

Love Songs For Sceptics”Love Songs For Sceptics’ is the latest book by Christina Pishiris.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost twenty years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever. With Simon back in town, Zoë is determined to finally pluck up the courage to tell him how she feels, but as obstacles continue to get in her way – Jess, Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, Nick, an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin Zoe’s career, and family pressure around her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding – Zoe begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be. What if, instead, they’re forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite mastering the steps. Is Zoë right to be sceptical about romance, or is it time she changed her tune?

Filled with drama, humour and sass, this book was a delight from the start to finish. Christina is a new author for me and is definitely an author I will be looking into.

Seen from the narrative of Zoe, a sceptic towards love and relationships, her brother has given her the task of choosing the playlist for his wedding. Unfortunately Zoe hates love songs and everything they stand for, so this is a difficult task. But when Simon, her first crush reappears in her life, she finds herself questioning her beliefs about love. Riddled with humour, sarcasm and loads of drama, this book was a really enjoyable read.

I loved Zoe, she was a brilliant character. She’s witty, determined and a great strong lead in this hilarious story. I loved her outspokenness and the actions of her attitude usually delivered entertaining results. I particularly loved the titles of each chapter, which were the names of famous songs throughout the years.

A hilarious new voice in female fiction, ‘Love Songs For Sceptics’ is the perfect reading companion for cynics of love, with wit, warmth and plenty of drama, this book is perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane.

You can buy the ebook from Amazon and the paperback will be available from good bookshops from 30th April 2020.

If You Were Here By Alice Peterson

If You Were HereAuthor of tear-jerkers and emotional rollercoasters, Alice Peterson is back with a new book called ‘If You Were Here’.

When her daughter Beth dies suddenly, Peggy Andrews is left to pick up the pieces and take care of her granddaughter Flo. But sorting through Beth’s things reveals a secret never told: Beth was sick, with the same genetic condition that claimed her father’s life, and now Peggy must decide whether to keep the secret or risk destroying her granddaughter’s world. Five years later, Flo is engaged and ready to pack up her life and move to New York with her high-flying fiancé. Peggy never told Flo what she discovered, but with Flo looking towards her future, Peggy realises it’s time to come clean and reveal that her granddaughter’s life might also be at risk. As Flo struggles to decide her own path, she is faced with the same life-altering questions her mother asked herself years before: If a test could decide your future, would you take it?

Alice Peterson is an author who is renowned for writing novels that will break readers hearts as well as staying with the reader long after reading the final page and her latest book is no different.

In this story we meet, Peggy and her granddaughter Flo, the pair of them have an extremely close bond after Flo’s mum called Beth suddenly passed away. It was only after Beth’s death that Peggy discovered that Beth was diagnosed with the terrible illness Huntington’s Disease. The same sickness that claimed her father’s life. Now, with this new knowledge, Peggy is trying to find the right moment to tell Flo that she might also be suffering from the hereditary illness. Flo is on the cusp of huge changes in her life, newly engaged and moving to New York, she is looking forward to her future, but it all falls down around her when Peggy reveals the news to Flo and there’s now a lot of uncertainty in her life.

From the very first page I was absorbed in this book, the multiple narratives through the multi generations give an insight into the illness and how it affected them all. The story is thoroughly researched and incredibly well written, as Flo is faced with a terrible decision, does she want to see if she has the illness or does she continues unaware.

Like Alice’s previous books, this book is another story that really strikes a chord with the reader. In this story, we meet a family who’s been heavily effected by Huntington’s. Once Flo knows the issue behind her mother’s death, she begins to put her own life into perspective and toy with whether she wants to know or not whether she has the illness as well. The story is seen through the narrative of Flo and Peggy, both terrified and unsure of the future. But Flo finds solace in her mother’s diary but also finds it daunting reading what her mother went through, knowing alone that she had Huntington’s.

Full of inspirational and heartwarming stories, this book is an uplifting and emotional story about the tragedy of Huntington’s and the impact that the terrible illness has had on lives. ‘If You Were Here’ is a compassionate and thought provoking story that really raises the awareness of Huntington’s disease and leaves the reader breathless on the final page of this life affirming story.

You can buy ‘If You Were Here’ from Amazon and is available from good bookshops.

Those People By Louise Candlish

Those People’Those People’ is the latest book by Louise Candlish.

Until Darren Booth moves in at number 1, Lowland Way, the neighbourhood is a suburban paradise. But soon after his arrival, disputes over issues like loud music and parking rights escalate all too quickly to public rows and threats of violence. Then, early one Saturday, a horrific crime shocks the street. As the police go house-to-house, the residents close ranks and everyone’s story is the same: Booth did it. But there’s a problem. The police don’t agree with them.

I spent one Friday morning enthralled with this book and only could I put it down when I finished it.

The story is seen through the narrative of the residents of Lowland Way, when a new neighbour moves in and causes some uproar to the friendly environment. Like Louise’s previous books, the book starts right at the moment something sinister has happened and everyone in the neighbourhood is a suspect.

The characters are an interesting mix of people, all quite snobby and set in their ways and with the arrival of Darren and his outspoken partner Jodie, you find them really rebel against change. The new neighbour challenges the dynamics of the neighbourhood and this makes for unsettling reading as the neighbours try to reason with them, only to be cut down. All the neighbours have their own motives and makes them all suspects throughout the story. There’s the new parents struggling with a new born getting sleep, the elderly woman who’s lonely and only company she has are those who stay in her bed and breakfast and finally the rivalling families who’s determined to make the area child friendly.

A fast paced and intriguing story that hooked my attention from the very first page, ‘Those People’ is just as compulsive as Louise’s highly acclaimed previous book called ‘Our House’. With a thrilling and fast paced plot and wonderfully fascinating characters, ‘Those People’ is definitely another summer hit from Louise.

You can buy ‘Those People’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.