Skip to content

The Anniversary By Hilary Boyd

'The Anniversary‘The Anniversary’ is the latest book by Hilary Boyd.

Stella once thought that if she never saw Jack again, it would be too soon. But life has other plans for her and her stubborn, handsome ex-husband. Looking after their daughter in a time of need, Stella finds herself unwillingly reunited with the man she shared the best years of her life with – followed by the worst. Where tragedy once tore them apart, now Stella and Jack are being drawn back together. But each of them has a new partner and a new life. Should they fight temptation? Should the past remain the past? Or are some loves simply meant to be?

‘The Anniversary’ is a sweet and tender about love and growing old. Jack and Stella thought their love was forever, until a death of their child drove them apart. Now, years later their only daughter is expecting their grandchild and they are spending time together for the first time in years.

I have read a few of Hilary’s books and I’ve come to enjoy her warm-hearted stories of love and friendships that come together neatly together in the end and ‘The Anniversary’ is no different.

The story is seen through the narrative of both characters and flows back and forth in past and present sequences, setting the scenes for the reader as they fall in and out of love and the dramatic events unfurl before them.

Both characters are interesting people, Stella is a kind and considerate woman who never got over the loss of her little boy, she’s always felt responsible for his death and found she was unable to move on, being constantly reminded off him. Like Stella, Jack also felt responsible for Johnny’s death but he wanted to carry on and make the most of life, much to Stella’s dismay.

Now, years later they have both moved on and are in new relationships, but they find old feelings returning much to their surprise and they begin to tentatively form a friendship and speak openly about their past and their future, particularly with their grandchild approaching.

This is a very enjoyable story, that is poignant and tender in parts, a story of loss that really tugs at the heartstrings. ‘The Anniversary’ is a lovely story to curl up with, with sweet character and the odd funny moment throughout, this book is perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan.

You can pre-order The Anniversary from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 20th September 2018.