Skip to content

The Last Charm By Ella Allbright

The Last Charm‘The Last Charm’ is the latest book by Ella Allbright.

When Leila Jones loses her precious charm bracelet and a stranger finds it, she has to tell the story of how she got the charms to prove she’s the owner. Each and every one is a precious memory of her life with Jake. So Leila starts at the beginning, recounting the charms and experiences that have led her to the present. A present she never could have expected when she met Jake nearly twenty years ago…

If you enjoy a story that will break your heart but will also make it sing, then ‘The Last Charm’ is the book for you.

The story is seen through the narrative of Leila and Jake and is written over a15 year span and how they are there for each other during pivotal moments in their lives. The story starts at the moment that Leila has put out an appeal to find the charm bracelet that she has had most of her life. Someone has recovered this bracelet and wants proof that the bracelet is indeed hers and so begins her story of the importance of each charm on the bracelet.

Jake and Leila meet at the moment that Jake and his parents move into Leila’s old house as Lelia and her father have to move as her mother has suddenly disappeared leaving Leila distraught. For the short time that Leila and Jake hang out before she leaves for Bournemouth, it makes a huge impact on Jake’s life and he never forgot her kindness when she shared her lunch with him. So going forward with every significant moment in Leila’s life, Jake sends her charm, but she is unaware that the charm is from him.

The story progresses over a period of time, as the pair of them get older and develop relationships with other people, they are always drawn back to each other. Although Jake has loved Leila aka Jones as he calls her, Leila is more hesitant towards the idea of a relationship with him.

I loved both characters in this story and found a real connection with them. The story focuses on troubling topics such as abandonment and physical abuse and the author, handles these topics with sensitivity. I really loved the dynamics between Jake and Leila, how they banter with each other, but also how they can be honest as well and Jake gently pushes Leila with her passion for art and any time, she has any self doubt, he’s in the background cheering her on. Both characters are flawed in their own ways, both are passionate but they compliment each other so well, so all the while that I was reading the book, I was cheering for them. Each time they were together, I found myself smiling throughout.

A beautifully written and tender book about love, friendship and new beginnings and had me up reading much later than my scheduled curfew. A story filled with heart and hope, ‘The Last Charm’ is a tender story that pulls the reader in from the first page, joining them on the Jake and Lelia’s adventure. This book is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

You can buy ‘The Last Charm’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Ella Allbright #

    Thanks so much for this lovely review Bronagh, so glad you enjoyed The Last Charm. Thanks also for being part of the OMC Readalong.

    August 27, 2020

Leave a comment to Ella Allbright Cancel reply

You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS