Skip to content

Book News – Snowfall Over Halesmere House By Suzanne Snow

Snowfall Over Halesmere HouseGet into the festive spirit with ‘Snowfall Over Halesmere House’ by Suzanne Snow, the first book in the new ‘Love in the Lakes’ series.

What the back cover says –

Welcome to Halesmere House, where romance might be just around the corner…

Ella is a successful chef who is looking for a temporary change of pace so she can figure out her next career steps. She’s been living in the past for so many years, it’s time she started living for herself. Luckily, Halesmere House in the Lake District is in need of a manager to kick-start its artists’ residence and Ella can’t wait to start.

There she meets single dad Max, the son of her eccentric new boss. He’s rattled by her presence and is convinced that Ella’s passing involvement in Halesmere will only prove painful to his children, who are already growing attached to the fun and lovely manager.

It isn’t long before Ella realises she’s falling in love with more than Halesmere and its community. But if she stays, is she really choosing a career for herself, or yet again for someone else?

A heartwarming and uplifting Christmas romance for fans of Heidi Swain, Karen Swan and Sue Moorcroft.

You can buy ‘Snowfall Over Halesmere House’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Cruise By Catherine Cooper

The Cruise‘The Cruise’ is the latest book by Catherine Cooper.

What the back cover says –

During a New Year’s Eve party on a large, luxurious cruise ship in the Caribbean, the ship’s dancer, Lola, goes missing. Everyone on board has something to hide. Two weeks later, the ship is o ut of service, laid up far from land with no more than a skeleton crew on board. And then more people start disappearing. No one is safe. Why are the crew being harmed? Who is responsible? And who will be next?

I read Catherine’s debut called ‘The Chalet’ in one sitting and I’m sure ‘The Cruise’ will be just as gripping!

You can buy ‘The Cruise’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Dragonfly Summer By J.H Moncrieff

Dragonfly Summer‘Dragonfly Summer’ is the latest book by J.H Moncrieff.

What the back cover says –

Jo Carter never thought she’d return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she’s compelled to find out what really happened. During her investigation, she learns another high school friend has died in a mysterious accident. Nothing is as it seems, and Jo must probe Clear Springs’ darkest corners and her own painful and unreliable memories to discover the truth – and save herself from the killer who could still be on the hunt.

Deliciously twisty and suspenseful from the first minute to the last, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ proves that no small town’s secrets can stay buried for good.

Perfect next for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ is a gripping thriller that asks: What happens when the past comes back to haunt you?

You can buy ‘Dragonfly Summer’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Fellstones By Ramsey Campbell

Fellstones‘Fellstones’ is the latest book by Ramsey Campbell.

What the back cover says –

Fellstones takes its name from seven objects on the village green. It’s where Paul Dunstan was adopted by the Staveleys after his parents died in an accident for which he blames himself. The way the Staveleys tried to control him made him move away and change his name. Why were they obsessed with a strange song he seemed to have made up as a child? Now their daughter Adele has found him. By the time he discovers the cosmic truth about the stones, he may be trapped. There are other dark secrets he’ll discover, and memories to confront. The Fellstones dream, but they’re about to waken.

You can buy ‘Fellstones’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

When Things are Alive They Hum Extract

When Things are Alive TheyOn the book tour for ‘When Things Are Alive They Hum’ by Hannah Bent. Sit back and enjoy an extract from the book.

Harper
When things are alive, they hum. You can hear it if you put your ear to the chest of an animal or if you lean close close close to a plant. My own hum goes dum dum da da dum da dum. This is the sound of my heart talking to me. I hear it best when I am in my favourite place: on the landing at the top of the stairs, where it is quiet and the wood feels smooth under my feet. My toenails sparkle with glitter nail polish, the same colour that my Marlowe used to paint on for me.

I look up and out, through the windows and over my dad’s garden, which is on top of a cliff that touches the wide sea. The water is black from the night and the moon is orange and furry and full. In the glow of its strange light, I see birds flying low and slow.

The birds are fighting the wind.

You can buy ‘When Things are Alive They Hum’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.