Skip to content

The Postscript Murders By Elly Griffiths

The Postscript Murders‘The Postscript Murders’ is the latest book by Elly Griffiths.

The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka’s account of Peggy Smith’s death. But when Natalka reveals that Peggy lied about her heart condition and that she had been sure someone was following her. And that Peggy Smith had been a ‘murder consultant’ who plotted deaths for authors, and knew more about murder than anyone has any right to. And when clearing out Peggy’s flat ends in Natalka being held at gunpoint by a masked figure.Well then DS Harbinder Kaur thinks that maybe there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

This is the first book that I’ve read by Elly Griffiths and it was an absolute joy from start to finish.

The story begins when elderly woman Peggy Smith is found dead in her care home accommodation. No one thinks her death is suspicious as she’s 95 but when friends of hers are robbed at gun point for a book, the amateur sleuths and DS Harbinder Kaur begin to think otherwise.

Peggy’s carer Natalka, a straight talking Ukrainian, an ex monk called Benedict and a retired radio presenter called Edwin begin their own investigation into Peggy’s death and they soon discover that Peggy was more than just a fan of crime novels. Peggy actually assisted with the books, helping authors with the plot line and creating interesting ways for a character to die. Her official title was a “murder consultant” and this awarded her to be created in some of the most successfully crime novels and as soon as she has died, so also has some of the authors she helped along the way.

Whilst her friends are investigating the deaths in their spare time, DS Harbinder is busy trying to stay one step ahead of the friends much to her frustration as they discover evidence and information before her. I loved Harbinder, an Indian woman who’s family were wondering if she’d ever settle down with a nice man when Harbinder would prefer to settle down with a nice woman. Her interactions with her partner Neil also made for entertaining reading, he’s a simple man and she often compared his interactions and behaviours as to that of a woodlands creature and adds an element of wit to the story.

I really enjoyed this story, it’s cleverly written with a collection of characters that made for fun and suspenseful reading. The trio of friends are an interesting mix of characters, Benedict is a quiet man adjusting to life outside the priesthood and having feelings towards Nathalka. Nathalka is sharp and observant and having left the Ukraine to attend university in England, fears that her past is following her and Edwin is gentle, old soul who’s enjoying the adventure and the opportunity to be out and about.

The cosy crime thriller to enjoy on the these cold Autumn evenings, ‘The Postscript Murders’ is a gripping and fascinating book that is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.

You can buy ‘The Postscript Murders’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Leave a Reply

You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS