Skip to content

My Perfect Friend By Sarah Clarke

My Perfect Friend‘My Perfect Friend’ is the latest book by Sarah Clarke.

Beth has the perfect life. She has constructed it carefully over the last eighteen years. But one night she makes a choice that risks everything. When Kat sees an article about that night online, buried memories begin to surface. She and Beth were friends once. Things ended badly then, but now she has a chance to make things right. Kat introduces herself to Beth. Not as her old friend, but as a stranger. Beth has no idea Kat isn’t who she says she is. But then neither is Beth.

If you like twisty thrillers, then ‘My Perfect Friend’ is a must read. It’s packed with suspense, intrigue and dislikable characters.

After trying to save a man from death, Beth becomes a neighbourhood hero and finds herself in the spotlight and the subject of a disgruntled homeless man who’s convinced that he killed her friend. Beth’s life is in turmoil until a dog Walker called Kat comes into her life and helps her with the chaos, but unknown to her, Kat is from her past and knows all about Beth before she became the perfect mother and figure.

This story is one of best thrillers I’ve read in a while. With a combination of flawed characters and a twisty plot that made for compulsive reading. The various narratives from Beth, Kat and Mark, the homeless man who hates Beth all pull the reader in with their different narratives and perspectives so the reader is unsure of who to believe. There is also the inclusion of past moments which really help set the scene of the story and really the story and characters a lot more depth. Beth is a complex character that I initially felt sympathetic towards but as the story progressed, we see a side to her that is cold and calculated as she does all she can to maintain her perfect life facade.

Gripping from the first page, ‘The Perfect Friend’ is a cleverly weaved story, filled with engaging and tense moments that made the book impossible to put down.

You can buy ‘My Perfect Friend’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Shake It Up Beverley By Suzan Holder

Shake It Up Beverley‘Shake It Up Beverley’ is the latest book by Suzan Holder.

Beverley Wilson has always loved the Beatles but kissing a poster goodnight isn’t really an option when you’re a fifty-something mum of three. So when she decides it’s time to get back into the dating game, she turns to a dating agency for help. But the long and winding road to real love is littered with dating disasters – the pantyhose pervert being the real low point and in Bev’s opinon it’s all too much. But meeting fellow Beatles fan Scott Smith changes everything…

If you love aspirational and upbeat stories about love and new beginnings, then love me do, this book’s for you!

Beverly is a Beatles fanatic living in Paul McCartney’s childhood home, she collects memorabilia and has whole shrines dedicated to the quartet. After years of being alone, she decides to find love and after some hilarious and disastrous first dates, she meets Scott who also shares her love of music and the Beatles. Thinking that she’s found the one, she’s heartbroken when she finds out that he’s far from perfect and become a viral sensation when her broken heart is exposed.

I loved this story, it’s fun, warm and packed with nostalgia for times gone by. Beverley is a lovely character, she’s kind, wears her heart on her sleeve and can easily be fooled by people. It’s lovely when she meets Scott but it is quite sad to read that he’s a scoundrel that breaks her heart. In the short time that the book takes place, a lot happens to the Liverpudlian lass not just her heartbreak but also her own family.

I also loved the facts about the Beatles that the book is filled with, it was absolutely fascinating in parts. Other characters in the story also made for interesting reading, Julia, Beverley’s vibrant friend and Leon the handsome police man who’s always around to rescue Beverley.

Fun from the beginning and packed with charm, ‘Shake It Up Beverley’ is a wittily written coming of age story about finding love and starting over.

You can buy ‘Shake It Up Beverley’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Book News – Snowfall Over Halesmere House By Suzanne Snow

Snowfall Over Halesmere HouseGet into the festive spirit with ‘Snowfall Over Halesmere House’ by Suzanne Snow, the first book in the new ‘Love in the Lakes’ series.

What the back cover says –

Welcome to Halesmere House, where romance might be just around the corner…

Ella is a successful chef who is looking for a temporary change of pace so she can figure out her next career steps. She’s been living in the past for so many years, it’s time she started living for herself. Luckily, Halesmere House in the Lake District is in need of a manager to kick-start its artists’ residence and Ella can’t wait to start.

There she meets single dad Max, the son of her eccentric new boss. He’s rattled by her presence and is convinced that Ella’s passing involvement in Halesmere will only prove painful to his children, who are already growing attached to the fun and lovely manager.

It isn’t long before Ella realises she’s falling in love with more than Halesmere and its community. But if she stays, is she really choosing a career for herself, or yet again for someone else?

A heartwarming and uplifting Christmas romance for fans of Heidi Swain, Karen Swan and Sue Moorcroft.

You can buy ‘Snowfall Over Halesmere House’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Cruise By Catherine Cooper

The Cruise‘The Cruise’ is the latest book by Catherine Cooper.

What the back cover says –

During a New Year’s Eve party on a large, luxurious cruise ship in the Caribbean, the ship’s dancer, Lola, goes missing. Everyone on board has something to hide. Two weeks later, the ship is o ut of service, laid up far from land with no more than a skeleton crew on board. And then more people start disappearing. No one is safe. Why are the crew being harmed? Who is responsible? And who will be next?

I read Catherine’s debut called ‘The Chalet’ in one sitting and I’m sure ‘The Cruise’ will be just as gripping!

You can buy ‘The Cruise’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Dragonfly Summer By J.H Moncrieff

Dragonfly Summer‘Dragonfly Summer’ is the latest book by J.H Moncrieff.

What the back cover says –

Jo Carter never thought she’d return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she’s compelled to find out what really happened. During her investigation, she learns another high school friend has died in a mysterious accident. Nothing is as it seems, and Jo must probe Clear Springs’ darkest corners and her own painful and unreliable memories to discover the truth – and save herself from the killer who could still be on the hunt.

Deliciously twisty and suspenseful from the first minute to the last, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ proves that no small town’s secrets can stay buried for good.

Perfect next for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ is a gripping thriller that asks: What happens when the past comes back to haunt you?

You can buy ‘Dragonfly Summer’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.