Skip to content

Cover Real – The Promise By Emma Heatherington

The PromiseI’m delighted to be one of the few lucky bloggers revealing the beautiful cover to Emma Heatherington’s new book called ‘The Promise’.

What the back cover says –

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments.

It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose.

With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love…?

With a simply stunning cover, this book is perfect for fans of Karen Swann and Lulu Taylor.

You can pre-order your copy of ‘The Promise’ from Amazon and is also available from Eason from 14th October 2021.

Alter Ego By K.A. Masson

Alter Ego‘Alter Ego’ is the latest book by K.A. Masson.

Alex Kendrew is juggling single parenthood, work and dating; with a wild, impetuous streak that’s hard to keep in check, she struggles to find a balance and feels perpetually guilty for the choices she makes. Alex begins a passionate affair when an old flame gets in touch. But one morning, the police arrest her for his attempted murder. Someone is framing her; can she prove her innocence as the evidence mounts against her?

Firstly, I’d like to apologise for not writing this review sooner, I had forgotten to add it to my calendar, so I spent my head absorbed in this story, only moving to get fresh tea.

The story is seen through the narrative of freelance photographer Alex and is set in the present when she is arrested for the attempted murder of her boyfriend called Mal.

The story then flows back to past times, leading up to the couples first interaction. After her relationship broke down with her son’s father, Alex decides to try online dating and one day meets Mal, who seems perfect for her until he breaks it all off as he wants to give an old relationship another chance. Heartbroken, Alex throws herself into online dating meeting men for sex until she meets an old friend from university called Adrian and they become a couple. Adrian seems like the perfect charming man but once he gets Alex and her son under his roof, he turns into a controlling, egotistical monster and when Mal reappears in Alex’s saving her from the unhappy relationship. But just as Alex is about to get her happy ever after with Mal, Mal is stabbed and Alex is the prime suspect.

This book is an extremely cleverly crafted thriller packed with dislikable characters, that made them all suspects in this whodunnit thriller. Alex is great character, she’s strong and independent and determined to prove her innocence and love for Mal. Adrian is an absolutely horrible man, gaslighting at any opportunity, he was cruel and cold and many of the scenes with him made for unsettling reading.

I really liked the flow of the story, moving from the past to present tenses and I really thought that helped build up the suspense and drama to the thriller.

A chilling psychological thriller that really gets under your skin, ‘Alter Ego’ is a fantastic debut about one woman’s quest looking for love only to have to prove her innocence.

You can buy ‘Alter Ego’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Safe And Sound By Philippa East

Safe And Sound‘Safe And Sound’ is the latest book by Philippa East.

In a small London bedsit, a radio is playing. A small dining table is set for three, and curled up on the sofa is a body. Jenn is the one who discovers the woman, along with the bailiffs. All indications suggest that the tenant – Sarah Jones – was pretty, charismatic and full of life. So how is it possible that her body has lain undiscovered for ten whole months?

This is a creepy novel that really pulled me in from the first unsettling page. The story is primarily seen through the narrative Jenn, who’s job is in charge of tenant management. When one of the tenant hasn’t paid their rent for 3 months, it’s her job to investigate what is happening. But Jenn gets the shock of her life when she discovers that the tenant has been dead for a number of months. And sadly Jenn can’t get the image of the dead woman sitting on the sofa with a place setting for 2 other people knowing no one place turned up and wondered if she was ok.

The woman is known as Sarah Jones but no one comes forward as her next of kin. Jenn develops an obsession with Sarah, wanting to know all about her and how one person can have no one, particularly as Jenn knew Sarah briefly and she was a warm and kind personality.

As the story develops, we join Jenn as she slowly unravels, dealing with anxiety, fear and uncertainty as her job is in jeopardy and her fear for her little boy’s health is constantly on her mind. Even though Charlie is a healthy little boy, she monitors him religiously looking for any sign of sickness.

The story is not only seen from Jenn’s perspective but there’s also an additional narrative from a little girl called Prin who’s used to having her parents and toys to herself but has to adjust to a new way of living when her cousin Jane comes to stay. Where Prin is spoilt and boisterous, Jane is meek and quiet and hiding from something.

The story is actually based on a true of a young woman, who died in 2003 but her body wasn’t discovered until 2006 and it does make for genuinely sad reading that these women weren’t discovered nor was anyone looking for them. Right from the offset, this book is a suspenseful story, Jenn is an anxious character and sometimes it’s hard to decipher what is real and what is fake and this really does keep the reader on their toes.

An atmospheric and taunt thriller from the very start, ‘Safe And Sound’ is a claustrophobic story focusing on isolation and the fragility of mental health with plenty of twists and shocks that keeps the reader engaged.

You can buy ‘Safe And Sound’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

The Jigsaw Man By Nadine Matheson

The Jigsaw Man‘The Jigsaw Man’ is the debut novel by Nadine Matheson.

When bodies start washing up along the banks of the River Thames, DI Henley fears it is the work of Peter Olivier, the notorious Jigsaw Killer. But it can’t be him; Olivier is already behind bars, and Henley was the one who put him there. She’d hoped she’d never have to see his face again, but Henley knows Olivier might be the best chance they have at stopping the copycat killer. But when Olivier learns of the new murders, helping Henley is the last thing on his mind. Now all bets are off, and the race is on to catch the killer before the body count rises. But who will get there first – Henley, or the Jigsaw Killer?

If you’re a fan of grisly murders and plenty of gore then this book is packed with it.

The story is primarily seen through the perspective of SDI Henley, who is having to relive a nightmare when a series of murders happen across London all baring resemblance to a serial killer that nearly killed her two years ago. Limbs are being found all the over place and no one can find rhyme nor reason why someone is copycating the ‘Jigsaw Man’ who’s behind bars.

The story flows at a fast pace as Henley tries to catch the killer along with her new trainee detective called Ramouter, who’s first case is attracting a media frenzy as the limbs count up. As Henley tries to catch the serial killer, the only way to do that is by confronting her fears and visiting the famous ‘Jigsaw Man’ aka Peter Olivier, the man who nearly killed her and is costing her marriage.

I loved this story, but be warned it’s not for the faint hearted. Congratulations to Nadine, who’s managed to create a fantastic serial killer who’s not only charismatic but chilling who really gets underneath the readers skins with his creepiness. Whilst Henley is trying to maintain her sanity and professionalism with the case but it’s difficult with so many similarities triggering unsettling memories for the detective. She’s a great character, a strong willed woman who refuses to be judged on her gender or race and takes no crap from anyone.

Although this book is a debut, it reads like a series and I’d love a prequel to the book, when we initially meet the famous ‘Jigsaw Man’.

Creepy, intense and filled with action that will literally fill you with fear, ‘The Jigsaw Man’ is a thrilling debut that is gruesomely great.

You can pre-order ‘The Jigsaw Man’ from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 18th February 2021.

The Other Daughter By Caroline Bishop

The Other Daughter‘The Other Daughter’ is the latest book by Caroline Bishop.

When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women’s liberation movement, but what she doesn’t know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?

It’s difficult to go into too much detail about this book, without giving too much away but it’s a beautifully written story about a search for answers.

The story is written in the past and present of mother and daughter Evelyn and Jess. After her mother died, Jess discovered something that left any unanswered questions, taking her to Switzerland looking for answers. Whilst in Switzerland, she works for a professional couple called Julia and Michael, teaching their children Lea and Luca, English. As Jess helps improve the children’s English, she’s determined to find some answers to her past.

The past narrative is seen from Evelyn, who aspires to be a successful journalist writing current affairs and hard hitting stories in the 1970’s, but it’s difficult to be taken seriously as a writer in male dominated industry and she finds herself the butt of jokes. But persistence pays off when she travels to Switzerland to follow a women’s movement looking for equality. But just as her career has taken off, Evelyn becomes pregnant and fears that all her hard work will be for nothing when the baby is born.

This book is a beautifully written story of two women finding their places in life and the struggles they have faced along the way. I loved Evelyn, her passion and determination for equality and for her own right to work made for fascinating reading. It’s was also incredibly reflective of how far society has moved forward. Granted, we’re still along way of from the ideal scenario but, to think of time when a woman couldn’t stand at a bar to order a drink made for astounding reading.

Caroline paints a vivid picture with her writing, whether it was the bustling city of London or the Swiss Alps, she sweeps the reader away in this poignant tale. This book is Caroline’s debut novel and I thought it was a tremendous, story, well paced with relatable characters and never once did my interest waver.

Jess was also an interesting woman who’s faced some struggles, things that should have come naturally to her have been cruelly taken away and she battled emotions with this and this does make for sympathetic and relatable reading.

A fascinating story into the exploration of women’s rights and one woman’s journey into the background of her birth, ‘The Other Daughter’ is an emotional story that really engaged my attention.

You can buy ‘The Other Daughter’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.