Skip to content

How We Met By Katy Regan

How We Met‘How We Met’ is the third book by Katy Regan.

For those left behind – Mia, Fraser, Anna, Norm and Melody everything stops. Their lives and dreams are frozen in time. In the years that follow, they decide to meet on Liv’s birthday to raise a toast and celebrate her life, even though none of them are living their own – not really. Time moves on and without Liv, the ringleader of the group, they are all falling to pieces, Mia and Fraser in particular are falling apart because of a secret they share and as truths begin to be unearthed and their friendships are pushed to the limit, they have to ask themselves, isn’t it about time they started living?

This is the first book that I have read by Katy and I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Pleasantly written with a lovely flow of writing and the intertwining stories of the main characters, Mia and Fraser makes for interesting reading as they both deal with the secret they share from that fateful night when their live changed forever. Even though the story is about sensitive issues dealing with death and betrayal, it is approached with care and makes for wonderful light reading. Beautifully written the story revolves around the importance of friendship and how it transcends with age and change. Bursting with love and friendship,’How We Met’ is an insightful and poignant tale filled with characters that you will in fall in and out of love with and will captivate and enthrall you from the very beginning.

You can buy How We Met on Amazon and is available from other good bookshops.

Three Little Words by Jessica Thompson

Three Little Words book cover‘Three Little Words’ is Jessica Thompson’s second book.

Bryony, Rachel and Sara are three women unknown to each other, but one evening’s dramatic turn of events will change all of their lives forever.

Rachel is a ballerina on the verge of stardom, Bryony is suffering a heartbreaking loss and Sara makes an unhappy discovery that makes her question everything she once knew.

When your world shatters at your feet, could three little words be enough to put it all back together.

After the success of her debut book, ‘This Is A Love Story’, Jessica Thompson has returned with her follow up book ‘Three Little Words’ and if you are expecting another story of love and romance then you are in for a surprise, as she taken a different path with her writing. ‘Three Little Words’ is much darker and focuses around the subject of murder, love and betrayal.

The story is based around one day, where three women’s lives will drastically change. It tells the story of Bryony, Sara and Rachel and the circumstances that follow on after that fateful day.

Set against the background of bustling London and beautifully written, ‘Three Little Words’ reflects on forgiveness and no matter how hard you try, it can be sometimes be difficult to forget and forgive.

All three women were inspirational characters, all strong minded and wilful, but it has to be said that Bryony was my favourite of the cast. She was sweet and even in her vulnerable state still came across as strong woman, as she struggled to deal with the cruel hand that she had been dealt. Caught between trying to forgive and not letting go of the past, her story was a beautiful and bittersweet tale as she found strength with time being a healer and she began to blossom as a person.

Heartbreaking from the start, ‘Three Little Words’ is an emotional book about forgiveness and discovering your way in life. A captivating read and a bold move from the young author, who writes dark tales wonderfully. ‘Three Little Words’ is definately a worthy read!

You can buy Three Little Words on Amazon and will be available in paperback from 15th August 2013.

Hide and Seek by Sara Shepard

Hide and Seek

“Hide and Seek” is the fourth book in “The Lying Game” series by bestselling author Sara Shepard.

When Sutton was alive, her adoptive parents adored her and her little sister Laurel copied her every move. But now she is dead and her long lost twin Emma has taken her place, she has realised that her perfect family are not quite how they seem.

Laurel is sneaking off with Sutton’s ex-boyfriend and her parents are keeping a secret from her, which is about her. Sutton knows that no-one can harm her but the same can’t be said for Emma as she is determined to find out about her sister’s killing and will stop at nothing to find out the truth.

Emma has fit in wonderfully into Sutton’s shoes and is playing the role of the bitch of the school down to a T, but she also brings out sides of her own character when people least expect it which shows a rare softer side to Sutton. As per previous books, there is no shortage of bitchiness, betrayal and jealousy as each girl tries to outdo each other and compete for attention and this all makes for compelling reading.

Just like her other series, the bestselling “Pretty Little Liars”, “The Lying Game” books continue to be filled with suspense and intrigue, as the main character Emma tries to find her sister’s killer, coming to the conclusion that everyone is a suspect, she begins to wonder if anyone can really be trusted. Sara Shepard is a wonderful writer and in my own opinion, is one of best current Young Adult authors, as she adapts so naturally to the role of the bitchy and rebellious teenager, this maybe the reason why all her books have been so successful.

“Hide and Seek” has got be my favourite book so far from “The Lying Game” series. It is a gripping tale that will have you hooked from the start as Emma continues on with her journey to find her her sister’s killer whilst dealing with a few surprises along the way.

You can buy Hide and Seek (Lying Game) on Amazon and other good bookshops.