Skip to content

The Ice Cream Girls By Dorothy Koomson

The Ice Cream Girls‘The Ice Cream Girls’ is the eighth book by Dorothy Koomson.

As teenagers, Poppy Carlisle and Serena Gorringe were the only witnesses to a tragic event. Amid heated public debate, the two seemingly glamorous teens were dubbed ‘The Ice Cream Girls’ by the press and were dealt with by the courts. Years later, having led completely different lives, Poppy is keen to set the record straight about what really happened while Serena wants no-one to in her present to know about her past. But some secrets will not stay buried and if theirs is revealed, everything will become a living hell all over again.

‘The Ice Cream Girls’ is the first book that I have read by Dorothy Koomson and I have to say that right from the very start, I thought it was a wonderfully compelling story that had me captivated from the start.

Serena and Poppy, the lead protagonists were such a pair of strong and fiercely independent women, that I immediately found them intriguing. I warmed to Poppy in particular, having spent most of her life in prison, she is a hard, insecure character who finds it difficult to trust people and longs for her parents forgiveness and love to return. In a series of flashbacks seen from the perspectives of both Serena and Poppy, we join them as they reminisce on the lives that they used to have and as they both tried to escape the memories of their pasts which haunted them on a daily basis. Life for Serena has been a little bit easier for her, now married with a family, she finally feels secure in her life, until Poppy is released from prison and treks Serena down, insisting she is innocent and imprisoned wrongly, she wants Serena to admit to a crime, that Serena maintains that she never committed.

This story is truly gritty and disturbing, touching on the subjects of abuse of all levels, mental, physical and sexual. It embarks on the remarkable and troublesome friendship of Poppy and Serena as they both fall for the same man. The man, Marcus is an absolutely heinous character that I disliked with such a passion that I actually worried myself. Sexist, abusive and manipulative, his actions and words regularly shocked me to the core as he played the two teenage girls against each other.

A story of love, abuse, heartache and innocence until proven guilty, ‘The Ice Cream Girls’ is a dark, intense and definately a thought provoking story that will have you hooked and with fantastic unexpected twist at the end that will leave you wondering if you ever really know those closest to you.

You can buy The Ice Cream Girls on Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Three Little Words by Jessica Thompson

Three Little Words book cover‘Three Little Words’ is Jessica Thompson’s second book.

Bryony, Rachel and Sara are three women unknown to each other, but one evening’s dramatic turn of events will change all of their lives forever.

Rachel is a ballerina on the verge of stardom, Bryony is suffering a heartbreaking loss and Sara makes an unhappy discovery that makes her question everything she once knew.

When your world shatters at your feet, could three little words be enough to put it all back together.

After the success of her debut book, ‘This Is A Love Story’, Jessica Thompson has returned with her follow up book ‘Three Little Words’ and if you are expecting another story of love and romance then you are in for a surprise, as she taken a different path with her writing. ‘Three Little Words’ is much darker and focuses around the subject of murder, love and betrayal.

The story is based around one day, where three women’s lives will drastically change. It tells the story of Bryony, Sara and Rachel and the circumstances that follow on after that fateful day.

Set against the background of bustling London and beautifully written, ‘Three Little Words’ reflects on forgiveness and no matter how hard you try, it can be sometimes be difficult to forget and forgive.

All three women were inspirational characters, all strong minded and wilful, but it has to be said that Bryony was my favourite of the cast. She was sweet and even in her vulnerable state still came across as strong woman, as she struggled to deal with the cruel hand that she had been dealt. Caught between trying to forgive and not letting go of the past, her story was a beautiful and bittersweet tale as she found strength with time being a healer and she began to blossom as a person.

Heartbreaking from the start, ‘Three Little Words’ is an emotional book about forgiveness and discovering your way in life. A captivating read and a bold move from the young author, who writes dark tales wonderfully. ‘Three Little Words’ is definately a worthy read!

You can buy Three Little Words on Amazon and will be available in paperback from 15th August 2013.

Temptation Island by Victoria Fox

Temptation Island

“Temptation Island” is the second book by Victoria Fox.

In the middle of the Indian Ocean there is an island, where only the rich are invited and only the strongest survive. It’s where Hollywood starlets go to recuperate but unknown to them, this island harbours a terrible secret. Three of the world’s most famous women, drawn into the world of glamour and riches escape to the island and are about to unearth a secret that will change their lives forever.

Aurora Nash, is LA’s wildest teen, there is nothing that she hasn’t tried and she’s totally out of control. After trying rehab and therapy, her parents decide to ship her off to one of Britain’s strictest boarding school, hoping that will change her ways but Aurora is set to find out some earth shattering facts about herself.

Newcomer to Hollywood, is British actress Stevie Spellor, one half of Hollywood’s golden couples who famously got her big break by helping her best friend Bibi. Now Stevie is the toast of Tinseltown whilst Bibi is married to Linus Posen, one of the film industry’s most sleaziest directors. But when Linus is found dead in Bibi’s bed, the finger of blame is immediately pointed at her. So to keep to best friend safe, Stevie and Bibi retreat to the island to get away from the paparazzi glare.

And finally Lori Garcia has become a world famous model, after escaping from her life of poverty and rescued by darling of the fashion world Jean Bapiste, she falls for the man’s affections and nothing can stop her thinking about him but it’s not until she reaches the island that she discover the secret of his success and together with Aurora and Stevie plan to unravel one of the Hollywoods most envied hot-spots.

“Temptation Island” is the first book that I have read by the young author and was quite impressed with such an interesting read.

Full of glamour, sex and deceit, it certainly made for a racy book, that occasionally made me raise in eyebrows in surprise. Having read “Fifty Shades of Grey” I thought nothing could surprise me, but it seems that is not the case, with some of the escapades Aurora got up to.

Victoria has successfully managed to create three, great lead ladies that make the book a fun, intriguing, summer novel. Young Aurora with her fieriness, Lola with her quiet determination and Stevie’s loyalty towards her best friend, make the story an addictive read that kept me up reading late into the night.

“Temptation Island” is an enjoyable and sexy book, with a storyline that flows easily from page to page, making is easy to get caught up in the sordid world of the Hollywood elite.

With a vibrant cover that is reminiscent of best selling author Louise Bagshawe and focusing the story around three strong females, like other author Lulu Taylor has done in her novels. Victoria Fox is definitely an author to look out with her latest naughty but nice novel.

You can buy Temptation Island on Amazon and other good bookshops.