Skip to content

Dragonfly Summer By J.H Moncrieff

Dragonfly Summer‘Dragonfly Summer’ is the latest book by J.H Moncrieff.

What the back cover says –

Jo Carter never thought she’d return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she’s compelled to find out what really happened. During her investigation, she learns another high school friend has died in a mysterious accident. Nothing is as it seems, and Jo must probe Clear Springs’ darkest corners and her own painful and unreliable memories to discover the truth – and save herself from the killer who could still be on the hunt.

Deliciously twisty and suspenseful from the first minute to the last, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ proves that no small town’s secrets can stay buried for good.

Perfect next for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena, ‘Dragonfly Summer’ is a gripping thriller that asks: What happens when the past comes back to haunt you?

You can buy ‘Dragonfly Summer’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

With Dust Shall Cover By Paul O‘Neill

With Dust Shall Cover‘With Dust Shall Cover’ is the latest collection of short stories by Paul O’Neill.

With the Halloween season in full swing, when better to delve into the dark world of ‘With Dust Shall’? But I must warn you, do not read before bedtime or you shall look forward to an unsettled sleep. I’m still trying to catch up on my missed sleep!

There are 14 chilling stories featuring a host of mind blowing scariness with faces on ceilings, bands that can create music that will make their listeners kill, or a man who is made from bandages. As I delved further into the book, I discovered that the stories begin lighter and become more unsettling, like the author is teasing the reader with easier stories for them only to get darker as you got further in.

The stories are all set in Scotland and with the descriptive backgrounds, characters and the colloquialisms make the stories incredibly believable and sinister.

Taunt and chilling, ‘With Dust Shall Cover’, is an incredibly dark collection of stories that explore haunted worlds and possessed people with endings that will have you sleeping with the lights on!

You can buy ‘With Dust Shall Cover’ from Amazon and other good bookshops.

The Call of Cassandra Rose By Sophia Spiers

The Call of Cassandra Rose‘The Call of Cassandra Rose’ is the latest book by Sophia Spiers.

Annabelle seems to have it all. The perfect house, a successful husband, a darling son. But Annabelle is troubled. Trapped in an unhappy marriage, failing at motherhood, and at odds with her new privileged lifestyle, Annabelle begins to self-harm, a habit resurrected from her traumatic past. When she meets the alluring and charismatic hypnotherapist Cassandra Rose, she is offered a way out. Through hypnosis, Annabelle is encouraged to unearth her painful repressed memories and face her childhood demons. But as the boundaries between her hypnotic trance and reality begin to dissolve, Annabelle becomes increasingly vulnerable to much darker forces.

This debut is a dark and compelling story that made for interesting reading. A keen observation into mental health, self harm and recovery from childhood trauma.

The story is seen from the narrative of Annabelle, whose mental health is triggered when her mother gets back in touch. Her relationship is unhappy and she’s convinced that her husband is having an affair and not working late. Her head is now in a bad place, so she turns to psychological Cassandra Rose, whose therapy will help her eventually find peace.

If you like domestic psychological thrillers then this book is a must read. Cleverly crafted about deceit, paranoia and trauma, this book was gripping. Annabelle is a great protagonist, she’s clearly a troubled soul who’s trying to fit into a middle class world who looks down on her, her husband is constantly is belittling her and she’s struggling to fit in. She’s unreliable so that makes the story interesting as the reader is trying to figure what’s real and what’s an illusion. Her interactions with Cassandra make for engaging reading as she hopes to get better with her life, but lines become blurred and she becomes unsure as what’s real or not.

With dislikable characters and fantastic plot twists, ‘The Call Of Cassandra Rose’ is a dark and taunt story that is originally written.

You can buy ‘The Call of Cassandra Rose’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

We Are All Constellations By Amy Beashel

We Are All Constellations‘We Are All Constellations’ is the latest book by Amy Beashel.

Seventeen-year-old Iris is happy. She’s fearless, she’s strong. She is everything but a girl who lost her mum. But Iris’s dad and step-mum have been keeping a secret. One big enough to unravel her. Only the magnetic Órla can provide an escape, until things get…complicated. As Iris questions who she is, it becomes clear she can’t run away from grief. What happens when someone who has never faced up to the darkness lets it in?

Iris was always lead to believe that her mother died in a house fire, but when she spots the house that she grew up in on social media. The life that she was less to believe was in fact a lie.

The story is seen through the narrative of teenage girl Iris, she’s boisterous and enjoys exploring old derelict houses. Her life has always been a certain way with her father, stepmum Rosa and stepbrother Noah aka Know It All. As Iris adapts to a new way of living, she discovers things not only but herself but also her mother.

The story is one of self discovery and makes for heartbreaking and poignant reading in parts as Iris finds out about her family. Her love for urban exploring is interesting, find old unwanted houses and giving attention. Iris is best friends with Tala, a quiet character who’s the polar opposite of Iris. They bring out the best in each other and their interactions are honest and fun moments. One of the key characters in the story is called Bronagh who was the former best friend of Iris’s mother and I loved reading a character with my own name

This story is a tender story of self exploration and discovery Observational, dark and witty, ‘We Are All Constellations’ is a wonderful, young adult novel about finding your place in the world and it genuinely makes for interesting reading.

You can buy ‘We Are All Constellations’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Silverweed Road By Simon Crook

Silverweed Road‘Silverweed Road’ is the latest book by Simon Crook.

Behind each door lies something strange and terrifying. Here, the normal is made nightmarish, from howls of were-foxes to satanic car-boot sales. Creepy, terrifying and witty by turn, Silverweed Road deals in love, loss, isolation, loneliness, obsession, greed and revenge. As the screw turns with each story, Crook creates a world of pure imagination, constantly surprising, in a setting that is instantly recognisable but other-worldly at the same time.

My second book tour of October is a spooky collection of short stories set on the creepily named Silverweed Road.

The story is seen from the narrative of the various residents and the spooky going on’s behind closed doors. Whether it’s the man who sold his soul to the devil to win a darts match, a man who became obsessed with a cuttlefish or the woman who disappeared after falling into a mysterious pool this book has something to creep everyone out.

An interesting slant that features at the end of each story is the personal statement from a police man who always suspected that something paranormal was afoot as none of the cases were ever solved. Another interesting feature to the story was the inclusion of jackdaws birds that were in every story. Jackdaws apparently loves people, but when a jackdaw appeared I immediately felt myself tense up and wait for something horrible to happen.

These stories are not for the faint-hearted, frightfully gory and graphic in parts but crafted with dark humour. clever storytelling and atmospheric reading. Treat yourself to ‘Silverweed Road’ and curl up with some good old-fashioned horror this Halloween!

You can buy ‘Silverweed Road’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.