Skip to content

The Promise By Emma Heatherington

The Promise‘The Promise’ is the latest book by Emma Heatherington.

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments. It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose. With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love?

The latest book by Emma is a sad and tender love story, about being in the wrong place at the wrong time but finding the right person to be with. Seen through the narrative of Kate Foley and David Campbell, they are bound together when they are both caught up in a bomb attack in their local town. Both experience a strong connection with each other and Kates vows to see David again when he’s taken away in ambulance. Many years later they are reunited and their feelings are strong but they are both in relationships and moved on and unable to fight the strong bond that they have developed.

I started this book last night and right from the start, I had an uncomfortable sensation reading it, as it brought back haunting memories of Northern Ireland from a day that people are still seeking justice for. Like, many others I remember the day that the Omagh bomb off, I was in the markets in Dundalk getting a necklace with my name on it. The hush as the radio reported the explosion and everyone pulled their loved ones closer and the television footage of the people climbing from the wreckages.

This book brought it all back and Emma paints vividly the fear and anguish and how it blew lives apart but also brought people together as everyone wanted peace. The divide between Protestants and Catholics as well as the attitudes that had manifested from generation to generation. I lived through it and still to do this day it baffles me.

For me this is a love story that is like no other, whether it’s because it’s set on my doorstep or because I could have been Kate, I felt a deep connection with Kate and as the book progresses, I wished for the kind and sweet woman to get her happy ever after.

The story is seen through the narrative of Kate and David, Kate is Catholic and is seen to be from the wrong side of the tracks, whilst David’s father is Reverend and looks down on people, particularly Catholic’s and this does make for realistic and upsetting reading in parts. The story is written over a period of time as the pair become closer and try to battle feelings, But as David is in a relationship, I had conflicting feelings over this, as I wanted him to be true and not lead Kate on, who had essentially paused her life for him.

‘The Promise’ is like a modern day, ‘Love Across The Barricades’ and Emma beautifully wrote the hardship that Northern Ireland has had to face for many decades and proved that no matter the religion, all lives were changed that day. A story of hope, courage and new beginnings, this book is tremendously written, haunting and relatable.

You can pre-order your copy of ‘The Promise’ from Amazon and is also available from Eason from 14th October 2021.

Cover Real – The Promise By Emma Heatherington

The PromiseI’m delighted to be one of the few lucky bloggers revealing the beautiful cover to Emma Heatherington’s new book called ‘The Promise’.

What the back cover says –

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments.

It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose.

With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love…?

With a simply stunning cover, this book is perfect for fans of Karen Swann and Lulu Taylor.

You can pre-order your copy of ‘The Promise’ from Amazon and is also available from Eason from 14th October 2021.

Secrets In The Snow By Emma Heatherington

Secrets In The Snow‘Secrets In The Snow’ is the latest book by Northern Ireland author, Emma Heatherington.

As the winter snow falls on the small Irish village of Ballybray, Roisin O’Connor and her young son, Ben, are saying goodbye to their beloved neighbour Mabel Murphy. Mabel lived a bold and colourful life, but the arrival of her brooding nephew, ‘blow-in’ Aidan Murphy, just makes life more complicated for Roisin. However, in one final act of love, a message arrives from Mabel that changes everything. And as winter turns to spring and the cold snow melts, the secrets both Roisin and Aidan are hiding must be revealed at last…

The story is seen through the narrative of Roisin, who’s recovering from the death of her elderly neighbour and best friend called Mabel, who took Roisin and her little boy called Ben under her wing who moved to Ballybray to start their new lives. Mabel’s favourite nephew has returned to Ballybray for the funeral. He’s a successful business man in New York, who’s struggling with life. Mabel can see that both Roisin and Aidan are struggling with their lives and sets them on a series of tasks to help them get back on their feet as well as unite them in their grief.

Sweetly written this book is a tender story of new beginnings and friendships. Roisin is a lovely leading lady, she’s kind but insecure having come from a troubled marriage which resulted in the death of her husband. Although shes’s recovering from years of abuse, anytime that she feels free and happy in herself, memories of her abusive husband come back to haunt her. She’s a creative spirit, who found not only a friend in Mabel but also a maternal figure as she never had a proper mother/daughter relationship.

Like Roisin, Aidan is struggling with the death of Mabel and finds solace in Ballybray away from the hustle of New York and his unhappy life.

As Mabel send them on series of adventures informing them of her old life and sharing her stories, the pair of them become close friends and see a connection in each other. Both of them are a fork in their lives and Mabel’s videos are the only constants in their lives.

Emma’s writing is sweet and warm-hearted conjuring up vivid imagery of the small Irish village and the descriptive fashion sold in the vintage shop were Roisin works. Both Aidan and Roisin are lovely characters and it’s sweet reading their interactions as they tentatively embark on their new friendship creating new memories. Mabel is also a great addition to the story with her vibrancy and lust for life. Whilst Ben adds an element of innocence to the story with his sweet nature.

‘Secrets in the Snow’ is a warm-hearted story that is perfect to curl up with during these cold winter nights.

You can buy ‘Secrets In the Snow’ from Amazon and is available to buy from good bookshops.

Rewrite The Stars By Emma Heatherington

Rewrite The Stars‘Rewrite The Stars’ is the latest book by Northern Ireland author, Emma Heatherington.

From the moment they meet one December day there’s something between Charlotte Taylor and her brother’s best friend, Tom Farley. But Tom’s already taken and Charlie has to let him go. It’s another five years before their paths cross again only a secret from the past forces Charlie to make a choice. She promises herself she’ll never look back. The years pass and Charlie moves on with her life but she can never forget Tom. He’s always there whispering ‘What if?’ Can Charlie leave the life she has built for one last chance with Tom? Or is the one that got away not really the one at all…?

I set and read this charming book in two sittings over the weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed this heartwarming book.

The story is seen through the narrative of Charlotte Taylor who one day meets Tom Farley and becomes besotted with the idea of him being the one. Years later, they meet again only for things again not to work out when Charlotte’s brother is involved in a terrible accident that she feels responsible for. Tom moves away to London and Charlotte stays in Dublin. Both Charlotte and Tom are musicians but Charlotte focuses on her teaching career whilst Tom is in a popular band that is rapidly getting bigger and forever reminding Charlotte of what might have been if they had given the relationship a proper chance.

The story is written over a period of time as both characters develop and move on on their lives, Charlotte meets Jack, falls in love and get married, the expected progression in life, but all the while wondering what if.

Charlotte is a lovely lead character, she’s kind, relatable and like everyone else in the world, wonders if the grass is greener on the other side. Warmly written with poignant moments that makes for tender reading and with laugh out one liners and fantastic supporting characters, ‘Rewrite The Stars’ is a warm and cosy story that is perfect to curl up with on these cold autumn evenings.

You can buy ‘Rewrite The Stars’ from Amazon and is available from good bookshops.