Skip to content

The Promise By Emma Heatherington

The Promise‘The Promise’ is the latest book by Emma Heatherington.

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments. It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose. With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love?

The latest book by Emma is a sad and tender love story, about being in the wrong place at the wrong time but finding the right person to be with. Seen through the narrative of Kate Foley and David Campbell, they are bound together when they are both caught up in a bomb attack in their local town. Both experience a strong connection with each other and Kates vows to see David again when he’s taken away in ambulance. Many years later they are reunited and their feelings are strong but they are both in relationships and moved on and unable to fight the strong bond that they have developed.

I started this book last night and right from the start, I had an uncomfortable sensation reading it, as it brought back haunting memories of Northern Ireland from a day that people are still seeking justice for. Like, many others I remember the day that the Omagh bomb off, I was in the markets in Dundalk getting a necklace with my name on it. The hush as the radio reported the explosion and everyone pulled their loved ones closer and the television footage of the people climbing from the wreckages.

This book brought it all back and Emma paints vividly the fear and anguish and how it blew lives apart but also brought people together as everyone wanted peace. The divide between Protestants and Catholics as well as the attitudes that had manifested from generation to generation. I lived through it and still to do this day it baffles me.

For me this is a love story that is like no other, whether it’s because it’s set on my doorstep or because I could have been Kate, I felt a deep connection with Kate and as the book progresses, I wished for the kind and sweet woman to get her happy ever after.

The story is seen through the narrative of Kate and David, Kate is Catholic and is seen to be from the wrong side of the tracks, whilst David’s father is Reverend and looks down on people, particularly Catholic’s and this does make for realistic and upsetting reading in parts. The story is written over a period of time as the pair become closer and try to battle feelings, But as David is in a relationship, I had conflicting feelings over this, as I wanted him to be true and not lead Kate on, who had essentially paused her life for him.

‘The Promise’ is like a modern day, ‘Love Across The Barricades’ and Emma beautifully wrote the hardship that Northern Ireland has had to face for many decades and proved that no matter the religion, all lives were changed that day. A story of hope, courage and new beginnings, this book is tremendously written, haunting and relatable.

You can pre-order your copy of ‘The Promise’ from Amazon and is also available from Eason from 14th October 2021.

Cover Real – The Promise By Emma Heatherington

The PromiseI’m delighted to be one of the few lucky bloggers revealing the beautiful cover to Emma Heatherington’s new book called ‘The Promise’.

What the back cover says –

One terrible moment changes everything for teenagers Kate and David. Brought together during the darkest of times, a spark of hope is ignited between them – a hand held in the darkness, a promise whispered. Neither of them will ever forget those moments.

It’s another ten years before David and Kate meet once more, and their lives are now so different. The promise they made to each other on that fateful day still binds them, but now they have so much more to lose.

With so much at stake, have they missed their once chance at happiness? They only way they will ever know is to risk everything to be together. Is that too high a price to pay for love…?

With a simply stunning cover, this book is perfect for fans of Karen Swann and Lulu Taylor.

You can pre-order your copy of ‘The Promise’ from Amazon and is also available from Eason from 14th October 2021.

Woman In The Water By Katerina Diamond

Woman In The Water‘Woman In The Water’ is the latest book by Katerina Diamond.

When a woman’s body is found submerged in icy water, police are shocked to find she is alive. But she won’t disclose her name, or what happened to her – even when a second body is discovered. And then she disappears from her hospital bed. Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey follow their only lead to the home of the Corrigans, looking for answers. But the more they dig into the couple’s lives, the less they understand about them. What’s their connection to the body in the river? Why have other people they know been hurt, or vanished?

Woman In The Water’ sees the return of crime fighting duo DS Adrian Miles and DS Imogen Grey.

The story starts with Adrian discovering a young woman in the water, presumed dead until he saves her. When she regains her consciousness, she remembers nothing but suddenly one day, she disappears. Adrian finds himself obsessing with the woman and case, as a child he witnessed domestic abuse and finds himself consumed with finding her and keeping her safe. But as Adrian and Imogen investigate the case, Adrian delves into dark places that impact him in the worst possible way.

Katerina’s books have always been very dark and gory, bringing the reader to the dark side of human nature but in this book, it’s not just gruesome, but also unsettling as one of the main characters has to go through a terrible ordeal. She handles the story with care and sensitivity but also includes the harrowing police procedure and the aftermath that the victim has to endure.

Again Katerina has delivered a story with twists and turns that really pull the reader in. With unreliable characters, suspicious people and the complex relationship between the investigating duo as thru embark on new territory.

Although ‘Woman In The Water’ is the latest book in Katerina’s series, I found it to have an extremely different slant to her previous books. Even though it included the crime duo that we love, the usual gore and suspense that kept us on our toes this book included a topic that is seen rarely reported due to the shame and the absolute terror of it but Katerina brought it forward in her writing which was commendable.

Written with care and precision, this book tackles issues of abuse on many levels and makes for heartbreaking and gripping reading. Extremely unsettling in parts, ‘Woman In The Water’ is a fantastic new book from Katerina Diamond, filled with twists and turns that shocked you to the gore, this book stays with you long after you reach the final page and if anything may give people the courage to speak up if they were in similar circumstances.

You can pre-order ‘Woman In The Water’ from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 9th January 2020.

Katerina Diamond Reveals New Book – Woman In The Water

Woman In The WaterHaving loved her last book called ‘Truth Or Die’ , I’m excited to see that Katerina Diamond has already revealed her new book for 2020 called ‘Woman In The Water’ and it’s the return of Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey.

What the back cover says –

I’m alive. But I can’t be saved . . .

When a woman’s body is found submerged in icy water, police are shocked to find she is alive. But she won’t disclose her name, or what happened to her – even when a second body is discovered. And then she disappears from her hospital bed.

Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey follow their only lead to the home of the Corrigans, looking for answers. But the more they dig into the couple’s lives, the less they understand about them.

What’s their connection to the body in the river?

Why have other people they know been hurt, or vanished?

Sounds absolutely gripping!

You can pre-order ‘Woman In The Water’ from Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 9th January 2020.

Truth Or Die By Katerina Diamond

Truth Or Die‘Truth Or Die’ is the latest book by Katerina Diamond.

The butchered body of a professor is found in a private office of Exeter University. It is the first in a spate of horrific murders that shakes the city to its core. Who would target a seemingly innocent man, and why? DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles turn to his students for answers, but their investigation turns up no leads. Someone must know more than they’re letting on. As the body count rises, the police have to look into the past to uncover the person responsible before it’s too late. But are they brave enough to face up to the truth?

When I received a copy of ‘Truth Or Die’, I didn’t realise it was latest book in the Imogen Grey and Adrian Miles, as the branding and cover was different, so when I got stuck in, I was delighted to see their return in this dark and gruesome tale.

In their newest case, the duo are investigating the horrific murders of university professors and students and as the death toll rises so does that extremity of their deaths. But as well as trying to catch the serial killer, the pair of them are trying to work out the new shift in their relationship, as they have been the only constant in each other’s lives over the last number of years.

I read this book over the weekend and if life hadn’t gotten in the way, I may well have read it in one sitting. Katerina has a knack of cleverly writing disturbing and gruesome tales that really pull the reader in until they reach the final page and ‘Truth Or Die’ was no different.

I love Imogen and Adrian, as a crime duo they are fascinating to read as they piece the pieces together to solve the crimes but also on a personal level, we see them tentatively become closer as they consider taking their friendship to another level but are worried that it will jeopardise things. Their interactions are sweet and entertaining.

Atmospheric from the very beginning, I really enjoyed this book. It’s thrilling and written at a fast pace that leaves the reader guessing throughout. With complex and suspicious characters plus the reappearance of old faces, ‘Truth Or Die’ is a deliciously dark and twisty story that will grip the reader until the final page.

You can pre-order ‘Truth Or Die’ on Amazon and will be available to buy from good bookshops from 11th July 2019.